Mother of Winds

mother of winds close up s

I look to the sky for the mother of winds–
asking her why, my mother of winds.

Her chariot crosses ahead of the sun–
with you I would fly, O mother of winds.

Like you I would step from the sea born anew–
black waves choke me dry, my mother of winds.

Pledged to a journey of transforming light–
dark ravens comes crying, my mother of winds.

I married the magic expecting to merge–
false troth bound to dying, O mother of winds.

And where are the children to circle me round?
aborted by lying, cruel mother of winds.

I curse and she answers with silence and ice–
the knots are untying me, mother of winds.

1094px-The_Dawn_by_John_La_Farge,_1899,_oil_on_canvas_-_Fogg_Art_Museum,_Harvard_University_-_DSC01212

Jane Dougherty’s challenge this week was inspired by the painting of Dawn, above, and asked us to use the ghazal form:  a series of two-line verses of the same length, with a somewhat complex rhyming scheme, both internal and line-ending.  To complicate things, not everyone agrees exactly on the rules.  Two very different explanations and examples of ghazal are here and here.

mother of winds s

Dawn has many mythological sides and I incorporated some of them into my poem.  Not only is she the mother of winds, some say she birthed the planets too.

 

Tags: , , ,

30 responses to “Mother of Winds”

  1. merrildsmith says :

    It is a tricky form. I like your “Mother of winds” refrain, and your collage, too. 🙂

  2. Jane Dougherty says :

    It is a complicated form and I like the way you change the refrain part according to the sense of the preceding line. Merril did the same and I think the poem is stronger for it.

  3. kirkistan says :

    Wow, Kerfe! Your collage and poem are deeply emotive for me. I’m trying to pick out the pieces that touch me. Your word/image combination has got me thinking.

  4. rivrvlogr says :

    Any form has variations. Yours add depth to the plea in your poem. A Kerzal.

  5. memadtwo says :

    I love when you add those circles to the collages. I’m thinking you almost have enough of these for a small book. Think about it…N.

  6. Sunshine Jansen says :

    Excellent poem, and interesting that before I even knew the form was ghazal I thought “This should be set to music.” I was thinking more old English folk at first and then wondered what it might sound like in the ghazal devotional style (a la Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan or Abida Parveen).

    • memadtwo says :

      That’s something to think about. It was definitely influenced by all those old ballads. I don’t know that much about middle eastern music though, except for the occasional listening.

  7. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    Wow so gorgeous in every wat

  8. artandmoondreams says :

    Wonderful duet. Love the mystery and storytelling behind the poem and the collage. Apart or together they are a delight.

  9. Jodi says :

    Oh Kerfe …. mother of poetry…. mother of art… mother of mystery… mother of truth… mother of beauty

  10. M.R. Emberson says :

    Kerfe, I really enjoyed this, especially the “dark ravens” and the paradoxical “the knots are untying me.”

  11. pranabaxom says :

    Such a lovely poem. Love the collage.

  12. reocochran says :

    I like knowing how you did this. Also, how the winds mythology goes, I learned something here. Smiles, Robin

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Poetry challenge Ghazal: the entries – Jane Dougherty Writes - August 23, 2016

Leave a Reply

