Synapses

synapses s

“And then, all at once, my God, the box was full of stars.”
–Helen Macdonald, “H is for Hawk”

Matter or
mind?  Images caught,
returning,
unchecked by
the body that is my brain–
synapses on fire.

Macdonald is talking about seeing her hawk, but that sentence made me think of the brain, and the images I had seen of synapses at work.  You can give me a scientific explanation of how signals traveling those pathways become something I see, or imagine, but it’s still magic to me.  Like birds.  Like stars.

P1110985

Prompt image from Sue Vincent.  We’re always filling in the blanks.

Tags: , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

20 responses to “Synapses”

  1. rivrvlogr says :

    And then there’s the synaptic blaze that created this.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jodi says :

    Strangely I’ve gone from reading (well listening to on Audible) “Big Magic” to “Incognito” for book club, which is the scientific explanation of brain activity….. What a wonder our bodies and brains are!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sharon Mann says :

    The beautiful and mysterious creative mind.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Susan Feniak says :

    Its all magical and mysterious to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dany Slone says :

    certainly mysterious. thanks for the post , made me stop and think

    Liked by 1 person

  6. merrildsmith says :

    Beautiful, magical, mysterious.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. M.R. Emberson says :

    Synaptic synergy . . . very cool, Kerfe! Macdonald’s book, too, is a real gem.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. mercyngum says :

    its Beautiful and yet mysterious.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

