Hands

palms comp

Pause at the edges
to consider endings.  Lines
as divined proof.  Lines
becoming soothsayers.  Lines
watching and recording time.

The 25th of each month has been, on and off, selfie day, so I’ve been aiming to finish the self portraits for my series then.  I’m not even close this month, but Charlie at Doodlewash has been sponsoring a favorites month, and today is, appropriately, “favorite body part”.  The eye is certainly tempting, but the hands win out.

back of hand comp

I realized as I was doing this that I haven’t really been drawing much at all for awhile.  Perhaps these hands will get me going again.  I did the right hand with the left hand holding the pencil, and the left hand with the right hand holding the pencil, not lifting the pencil from the page.  Palms still seem easier to draw me than the back of the hand.

The poem uses the secret keeper’s words this week:
WATCH | EDGE | PROOF | PAUSE | SOOTH

Tags: , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

29 responses to “Hands”

  1. 10000hoursleft says :

    Great sketches, made even more impressive with your ambidextrous ability!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jodi says :

    Wow – totally impressed that you can draw so well with both hands. Hands are such a gift aren’t they? Enabling us to do so many things, and then after all these years, they have many stories themselves to tell 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Claudia McGill says :

    These are as personal as if you had drawn your face, and as revealing. Just beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. rivrvlogr says :

    Someone has to say it…

    I have to hand it to you – petty nice!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sand Salt Moon says :

    Fabulous ~ lifelike lines!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    Wonderful sketches

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jill Kuhn says :

    I have arthritis in my hands so I value them even more! Lovely hands you have and talented ones too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Wow, nice!!!! Hands are so difficult! Wonderfully done!! And double kudos for drawing with your non-dominant hand…impressive!! I had to go with eyes in the end…probably because I was too terrified to draw hands. 😊hehe

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Rebecca says :

    Beautiful hands! Give the lady a big hand. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. davekingsbury says :

    Excellent drawings … they are very consistent – are you ambidextrous?

    Liked by 1 person

  11. merrildsmith says :

    Somehow I missed this in my way too full inbox. Wonderful drawings (and poem, too). I’m amazed you drew with both hands. I agree with Claudia that your hand drawings are personal, revealing, and beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Merril. I do need to get back to drawing more. Hands are always a good subject, and readily available as well.
      I seem to miss things in my Reader, too, or the Reader is sometimes buggy and posts fall through the cracks. We all do our best! Also I get tech overload and have to back off from the computer for awhile.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

