To my husband

I’ve been absent from this blog because my husband had a stroke on Saturday, August 20th, 2016. Luckily I got him to the hospital quickly where they administered TpA, a clot busting medicine. He was paralyzed on the right side and mute. Scary as shit, people. But within ten minutes he started to recover. 

I am thankful that he is gradually coming back to himself and also thankful that they have this medicine which didn’t exist years ago. 

I was kind of drunk when I did this sketch. 

Tags: ,

74 responses to “To my husband”

  1. Susan Feniak says :

    Hugs to you Nina. I do hope your husband continues his miraculous recovery. Cheers.

  2. Janetteartandwords says :

    Hoping for all the best, in your husband’s recovery – blessings to you both. 🙂

  3. Tony Single says :

    Thank god he’s recovering! My regards to you both!

  4. Olga says :

    Blessings to you and your husband. Yes, life can change in an instant. Very scary! Your image and message is very powerful. Okay to have a few libations to get through a traumatic experience. ❤

  5. zdunno03 says :

    I’m happy to hear he is recovering. I know how difficult a stroke is to deal with.

  6. Myriam (Myr's Bytes) says :

    I’m so glad that you got your husband to the hospital quickly and that he is recovering well. Best wishes for his continuing recovery. 🙂

  7. merrildsmith says :

    Oh, Nina! I’m glad he’s recovering, and I hope it goes smoothly. Wishing him–and you–the very best. (It’s good you were with him and able to get him to the hospital quickly!)

  8. Victo Dolore says :

    I am so sorry and yet so glad he was able to get good treatment quickly. Sending love your way!

    • memadtwo says :

      That TaP was pretty miraculous. From what I understand a stroke can be absorbed without it but his was pretty major. He started coming around within ten minutes of the medication. (I ran every red light to the ER. Husband is a doctor; wouldn’t let me call an ambulance. Said I could get him there faster).

  9. Jill Kuhn says :

    Glad to hear your husband got medical attention immediately! This makes a huge difference – although what you are both going through is not easy. The brain is amazing how it can recover. What a shock I’m sure! Hang-in-there!!!

  10. onecreativefamily says :

    Glad to hear he is recovering.

  11. Sand Salt Moon says :

    Take care of things at home – your hubby needs you and you were there when he needed you the most.

  12. Carol says :

    Amen is right! So sorry to hear you have had such a harrowing time but am thrilled that he is making such good strides! Prayers for continued progress. Oh, and cheers 🍷🍷

  13. rivrvlogr says :

    Time is crucial. I’m glad he was able to receive medical attention quickly.

  14. kirkistan says :

    Yeah–Nina–so glad he is recovering. Quickness to therapy seems to be the key for strokes. Still: Yikes!

  15. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    So sorry but so glad for this wonderful recovery, all the best!

  16. mesanger says :

    The starkness of your words and your sketch… say so much. Glad the story is winding out with favorable lines now… Warmth to you.

  17. rjyoo12 says :

    I am glad to hear that your husband is alright due to your quick action to take him to the hospital and the good medicine… I hope your husband and you’re going to be o.k…. Take care.

  18. outsideauthority says :

    Best wishes to you both. OA

  19. REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate says :

    My thoughts and wishes to you both, well done on your amazing prompt response and quick thinking at a stressful time, a good early response to the drugs is positive, ❤️

  20. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    So pleased to hear that you both were able to get through this difficult time. How wonderful to read that things are improving, Nina.

  21. 10000hoursleft says :

    Glad to hear he’s doing well, Nina. What a scary thing.

  22. Rebecca says :

    Sending heartfelt wishes for a good and swift recovery. A stroke is an immensely frightening thing; hang in there both of you. When my dad had his (left side) stroke, I found that this book was very informative and encouraging: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Brain-That-Changes-Itself-Frontiers/dp/014103887X/ref=sr_1_37?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1472714376&sr=1-37&keywords=human+brain . x

    • memadtwo says :

      Ordering it now (from U.S. Amazon). Hope your dad made a complete recovery.

      • Rebecca says :

        I really hope you find it an encouraging read. It certainly highlighted for me the amazing adaptability of the brain, and I know the book also encouraged my dad to challenge the effects of his stroke. He has always been a musician, playing banjo and fiddle. The loss of mobility and feeling, particularly in his left hand, was initially devastating, but I remember he had his banjo brought into hospital so that he could (silently!) start to retrain his fingers to find the strings as soon as possible. He feared his playing days were over. That was ten years ago – now he plays both instruments again and is thankfully fully mobile and independent. I think his excellent progress has been largely down to his own determination to recover, and this has certainly paid off. Even a decade on, he is still experiencing small improvements in facility and muscle control. I hope this experience gives you a ray of light for the difficult days; I will be thinking of you both.

      • memadtwo says :

        That is wonderful to hear.

  23. Mann says :

    May he recovers soon. 🙂

  24. watchingthedaisies says :

    Sending you a big hug through the airways…

  25. First Night Design says :

    Very scary. I’m so glad he’s on the mend. I had four TIAs in 2008 and that was scary enough. I’m terrified of anything more. You must both take it easy. x

  26. colorpencil2014 says :

    What a shock!! Sending healing thoughts to you and your husband! xo Johanna

  27. Jodi says :

    Sending love and hugs and healing for your hubby Nina!!! 💛

  28. davekingsbury says :

    Best wishes to you both!

  29. Snehal Kank says :

    Sending you hugs and love Nina! So happy to know that he is on the path of full recovery! Take care friend.

  30. davisbrotherlylove says :

    So sorry, Nina. Thank goodness indeed for your quick action and the clot buster!
    j

  31. melbasnaturalbydesign says :

    Dear Nina,
    I had no idea about Dr. Wilson’s stroke. OMG I am so sorry. You know both of us consider him like family. He has been our family doctor since he took care of my mother 30 years ago. Please do not hesitate in calling me if you need anything. Our prayers with you. I know he will be well soon. God bless.

  32. sultanabun says :

    Heartfelt good wishes to you and your husband.

  33. Lucy Grove-Jones says :

    I’m sorry to hear about your husband’s stroke. My thoughts are with you.

  34. jmlandin says :

    Oh Nina. How terrifying. And yet I’m relieved to read he’s recovered so well. Best wishes to you both!

  35. Eileen McKenna {my creative resolution} says :

    All my best! Hope your husband continues with his recovery. Take Care Nina ❤️

  36. Sheldon Kleeman says :

    sending lite and love
    prayers and blessings
    As always Sheldon

  37. circadianreflections says :

    OMG! My prayers and thoughts are with you and your family Nina!

  38. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Nina, I’ve been away from blogging and missed this, but I am so glad that your husband is recovering. Sending prayers and hugs for you both. Congratulations on having nerves of steel!!!

  39. M.R. Emberson says :

    I’m so sorry, Nina. I haven’t been on WordPress in a while. I hope that your husband is doing much better.

  40. jeanmackayart says :

    Holy cow, Nina! Powerful. Wishing you continued progress and full recovery for your husband.

  41. tedgiffin says :

    Praying for a speedy recovery!

Leave a Reply

