Junk Mail Art: Lost

woman-s

when-i-returned-s

the-scene-had-darkened-s

the-clouds-s

i-just-stood-there-s

watching-it-all-unfold-s

Jane Dougherty’s microfiction challenge this week included Henri Rousseau’s painting, below, as inspiration, and the theme “abandon”.

1024px-Henri_Rousseau_-_Un_matin_de_pluie

My collage box had its own ideas, as usual.

lost-white-s

When I returned, the scene had darkened.  Underneath layers of rain, the curtain was already falling over my head.
The clouds, no longer hidden, now speak for themselves.  We were united under an umbrella of overpowering landscape.
I just stood there, lost, watching it all unfold in front of me.

 

Tags: , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

44 responses to “Junk Mail Art: Lost”

  1. Jane Dougherty says :

    I love what you did with this theme, taking the little character and giving her a purpose and a voice.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jodi says :

    Oh Kerfe – this is so dreamy and lovely – I hope you are keeping these all in a beautiful collection book. What a gift to your family and so many that would be. Your legacy of wisdom and art and beauty!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Victo Dolore says :

    I love your take on these things!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate says :

    This is fantastic’ I love how it evolves

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kirkistan says :

    Wow Kerfe–you got me. Great poem and the images worked all the way through for me. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. lesliepaints says :

    Absolutely over the top! I love what you created from this inspiration. I think I have said, before, how much I like what you do with collage. This does not disappoint.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jennifer G. Knoblock says :

    I love this–it feels very Romantic and Bronte-ish to me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sunshine Jansen says :

    I’ve often thought: you get a much higher caliber of junk mail than I do! This is one of my new favorite compositions of yours; and yes, I love the “umbrella of overpowering landscapes”…

    Liked by 1 person

  9. kestrelart says :

    I love the skill and expressiveness of your collages.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. merrildsmith says :

    Wonderful! I love that figure. Like Jennifer, I think it sounds Bronte-ish, except I think Jane Eyre would then take action in the next line. 🙂
    Great images/phrases–the clouds speaking for themselves and the people united “under an umbrella of overpowering landscape.”

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    I really love this whole post!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    This is fabulous! The words you chose are fantastic to go with the figure. Really well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. davekingsbury says :

    Great stuff … doubly great because you strike a blow against the mountain of stuff we get in/through our letterboxes!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. sarahsouthwest says :

    A word box – what a good idea! I love the way you see the separate lines and images and then open out to the whole thing.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. sheldonk2014 says :

    Love this very much
    Great piece
    Simply beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Carol A. More says :

    I enjoy your work and that you use junk mail! I use trash found on walks around my neighborhood and unfortunately – or fortunately – I usually find enough of it! Soldier on, my recycling friend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

