American Kestrel (Draw a Bird Day)

kestrel-pencil-s

perched in place, sharply
focused, air
still with wings waiting

to lift firmament
into flight–
slow pace of silence

broken—klee klee
klee—chiming
the time of pursuit

kestrel-guoache-wht-s

The 8th of each month is draw-a-bird-day, and I’ve done the American Kestrel for September, influenced by my recent reading of “H is for Hawk”.  The kestrel is the smallest falcon in North America, and one of the most colorful, often used as a beginner’s bird for falconry.

The poem uses the secret keeper’s words this week:
PLACE – SHARP – CHIME – FIRM – PACE

kestrel-neocolor-s

Laura at CreateArtEveryday usually hosts draw-a-bird-day, but she’s been MIA for about a month…

Art, from top to bottom:  pencil drawing, gouache painting, neocolor drawing (with water).

 

Tags: , , , , ,

26 responses to “American Kestrel (Draw a Bird Day)”

  1. Jodi says :

    Oh kerfe. These are magnificent. Each one more beautiful !!! I forgot dab day this month. Oops. Enjoyed yours tremendously !

  2. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    I love them! Just amazing

  3. Susan Feniak says :

    Fantastic Kestrel art! I too hope Laura is enjoying her break.

  4. REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate says :

    Great work, you have been busy, I always love your many medium examples, I love them all ❤️

  5. Myriam (Myr's Bytes) says :

    Beautiful kestrels, Kerfe :-). Lovely poem too – with just a few words it brings to mind a place, with sounds, sights and a mood.

  6. colorpencil2014 says :

    Fantastic work!! they will fly right of the paper!!

  7. Rachel Murphree says :

    Oh this is one of my favorite birds! I really like the bottom painting.

  8. memadtwo says :

    You know I think hawks are my ancestors. I love your drawing. The book I couldn’t really get through. Too serious. May finish it one of these days though. I don’t like the idea of falconry (putting that hood over the bird, etc.).

  9. YesterdayAfter says :

    Lovely Kestrel in all your drawings! I like hawks and you captured it beautifully I love the colors! I haven’t seen Laura post I hope that she is having great time! 😉

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Half a Haibun 5 | Work in Progress - March 15, 2017

Leave a Reply

