Drunkards Path (some dance to remember, some dance to forget)

drunkards-path-collage-s

The sun was warm, but the wind was chill
between our thoughts.  He holds our breath.

(sounds of water)

Oh yes, that kind of thing could start again.

Let me not wander in a barren dream
that nothing cures.  An immense slackening ache,
in the unfinished sky with nothing to hold it,
lowly one day, no different from the others.

Well, I would like to make
all memory resolve itself in gaze.

The trees say,  Pull me: but the hand you stretch,
the afternoon sifted coolness,
is deep with song.

sue-gate

When I read Jane Dougherty’s response to Sue Vincent’s gate prompt (above), I immediately thought of “Hotel California“.  I had already decided to do a Cento Poem, which takes lines from other poets and strings them together to make a new poem.

I can’t explain completely my method for choosing these lines, except to say it involved a list of poets and a lot of randomness.  I do like those surrealistic games.

The result reminded me of a drunken conversation, hence the title and quilt template for the collage, which uses also the gate from Sue’s photo.

hand-reaching-s

I wouldn’t mind a hand stretched deep with song myself.

Poets, in order of appearance: Robert Frost, Carol Ann Duffy, Basho, Seamus Heaney, John Keats, Philip Larkin, Richard Siken, Wang Wei, Denise Levertov, Richard Hugo, George Herbert, Louise Bogan, Langston Hughes.

And the title: Eagles, “Hotel California”

Tags: , , ,

17 responses to “Drunkards Path (some dance to remember, some dance to forget)”

  1. Jane Dougherty says :

    It does have a drunken feel to it, like the tilting deck of a ship.

  2. Sunshine Jansen says :

    I think the cento is the poetic form of our new jazz age. I’ve never tried one, but reading this masterful offering, I’m tempted to try!

  3. Jodi says :

    Wow. What id give for a moment inside your creative artistic mind! How long does it take you to write these and produce the art. Each one is so amazing I imagine a full days work!!! ❤️

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Jodi. Some are faster than others. Often I work on something for days, a little at a time. Everything gives me ideas…and sometimes I spend more time thinking about it than actually doing it!

  4. Snehal Kank says :

    The art you created and words you wrote are just fantastic !

  5. davekingsbury says :

    Nice sound and quotation collages!

  6. sheldonk2014 says :

    Almost looks like a clock

Leave a Reply

