Straw Hat, poem by Kerfe Roig (ME, IN A HAT Poetry & Prose Series)

I have more to say about this image, and more images from this block. We’ll be back next week. Happy Thanksgiving from both of us!

Silver Birch Press

roig_straw-hat-illustration

Straw Hat
by Kerfe Roig

I don’t remember
why I bought it. A straw hat.
I painted myself
wearing it: young, jaunty, full
of optimism. Moving
on to other dreams
beyond, past the unrealized,
I lost that self. My
self in that moment, that hat,
in that portrait. Who I was.
And now I draw on
memory. An inexact
rendering of time,
the intersection of lines
reaching forward and then back.

IMAGE: “Straw Hat,” self-portrait by Kerfe Roig.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: I’m working on 100 self-portraits inspired by other artists. This block print was based on a print by Vanessa Bell. When I saw her image, I immediately thought of the now-lost self-portrait I had painted in my twenties, a young woman in her straw hat. I tried to reproduce the feeling of it that remained in my mind, now wearing the hat on my present, much older…

View original post 33 more words

25 responses to “Straw Hat, poem by Kerfe Roig (ME, IN A HAT Poetry & Prose Series)”

  1. Jodi says :

    Hi KERFE! How wonderful to see you back! And what a beautiful work of art and even more wonderful words to go with it! Oh How I’ve missed these posts of yours! Hi to you and Nina! Look forward to more! Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Snehal Kank says :

    Happy thanksgiving to both of you 😀 It’s really nice to see your post pop up in my feed. Wonderful work and words too! Welcome back 💕💜

  3. davisbrotherlylove says :

    Happy Thanksgiving! Missed your blogging!
    j

  4. Rebecca says :

    Oh, I love this! The combinations of colour, shape and media are splendid. More please! 🙂

Leave a Reply

