October/November 2016 Grid with some words from Gary Snyder

oct-nov-16-grid-s

Gratitude to Plants, the sun-facing light-changing leaf
and fine root-hairs; standing still through wind
and rain; their dance is in the flowing spiral grain
in our minds so be it.
–Gary Snyder, “Prayer for the Great Family”

I pledge allegiance to the soil
of Turtle Island,
and to the beings who thereon dwell
one ecosystem
in diversity
under the sun
with joyful interpenetration for all.
–Gary Snyder, “For All”

“I try to hold both history and wilderness in mind, that my poems may be the true measure of things and stand against the unbalance and ignorance of our times.”
–Gary Snyder

Two months have passed quickly.  Nina put together our exhibit, and she did a great job.  I have definitely missed the inspiration and support from everyone.  Not sure how quickly I can return to normal routine; we’ll see what happens.

Tags: , , , ,

19 responses to “October/November 2016 Grid with some words from Gary Snyder”

  1. Jodi says :

    wonderful Kerfe! again – welcome back – so good to see you – take it at your own pace.

  2. merrildsmith says :

    Welcome back, Kerfe. I like this autumnal collage and the thoughts you included.

  3. memadtwo says :

    I would love a quilt like that! It’s beautiful. And good to be back, no?

  4. Snehal Kank says :

    I liked the Autumn collage 🍁🍂! Ohh yes quilt like that would be an amazing idea! 😀

  5. crow says :

    Welcome back!

  6. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    I do hope you are well, Kerfe. You are much missed in this neck of the woods.

  7. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Wow this is so gorgeous. Man I’ve missed your collages. 💜

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Laura…are you coming back to your blog too?

      • Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

        Hmm. Maybe after the holidays. Not sure. I do post to Instagram daily but it’s so much faster and easier. (Even tho I resisted it for a very long time).

      • Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

        I also wanted to add – if you have iPhone or iPod, and probably lots of other devices too, the Instagram app is free and you can take the photo within the app and post so easily. To be found, add tags, just like here, but use the # sign in front of each tag and commas to divide them. To talk to people, put the @ sign in front of their IG username, then make your comment. Doing this gives them a notification of your reply (no spaces between the symbol and username or tag). Click the word bubble symbol to add a comment to someone’s post and double click/ double tap the image to like it (which colors the heart below the post red), or doubleclick the heart itself. That’s pretty much all you need to know, should you wanna explore over there. Pretty much everything art-related you’d ever want to see has an IG. Galleries, museums, art supply makers, artists……it’s quite a playground! Main thing I like is the very broad exposure in exchange for much less time invested.

      • memadtwo says :

        I thought about Instagram, but I’m not a device person at all–I only use the phone to call and text, and I don’t know where it is half the time–don’t have an iPad or even a laptop. I’m already overwhelmed with visuals, and I don’t need any more distraction. When my family was last here, everyone was checking their devices all the time, and I found it really disconcerting. I like that it takes time to do a post because I really think about what I’m doing/have done. I know, I’m out of synch with the times.

      • Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

        What you’re saying makes a lot of sense too though. You have to do what feels right in your gut. 💜

  8. davekingsbury says :

    You complement Gary Snyder’s reverence for life in the art.

Leave a Reply

