Lost Voices

lost-voices-comp-old

New York is cold (for Leonard Cohen)

Gone. What
traces sing now?
a voice leaving footprints
on fragments, in absence, ghost path
exhaled.

lost-voices-comp-young

Beware of Darkness (for Leon Russell)

Trace your voice, gone silent now. No words,
a path unforked,  a place untimed.
I’m singing this song, now, to
you.  Sounds falling alone,
sense without context.
Unentangled,
disappeared.
Weightless
breath.

It was a bad week.  When I did these paintings, it was with trepidation, as I hadn’t picked up a brush in quite awhile.  But it was easy to get lost in the doing and felt good.

The poems use the secret keeper’s prompts from October 17 (#59):  
GONE – SENSE – TRACE – VOICE – PATH
I’ve got folders containing a lot of the WordPress prompts from the past 2 months, although after the first 2 weeks I didn’t do much with them except write some poems, now in a folder marked “needs art”.  I’m working on it.

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

10 responses to “Lost Voices”

  1. 10000hoursleft says :

    I was lucky to have seen them both live only a handful of years ago. Beautiful images and words.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    So nice to see you both back and arting! 💙

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks, I’m easing into it. Not sure if I will ever get back to the former intensity, but I’ve got enough stuff accumulated to keep going for awhile. I’m definitely working at a slower pace, though.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jodi says :

    Always wonderful to see your art and read your words

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kestrelart says :

    Thanks for sharing. I found Cohen too late to go to a live performance. Now his music is my mental soundtrack. Like you, I felt moved to draw him by his death. We will miss him.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

