Andy in the water

My cousin sends me a lot of great photos. I did a couple of versions of this one. This is an example of a painting needing to be done in oils, I think. 

The first version was a watercolor. The angle of the head was awkward and I didn’t really get it at all. 
I thought the pencil sketch was better. The main image if the sketch filled in with watercolor. Unfortunately it was in a sketchbook and the paper crinkled up. Oh well. 

Here is my cousin’s photo. I’m not going to give up on this one quite yet!

Tags:

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

16 responses to “Andy in the water”

  1. memadtwo says :

    I actually like them all. They may not be exact replicas, but they all get the feeling of floating. (K)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kestrelart says :

    That’s the Hockney in you coming out.
    Cool

    Like

  3. Tony Single says :

    I like both versions to be honest with you. I’m very interested to see how you progress with this! 🙂

    Like

  4. Jodi says :

    Ha Ha! Love them – and your determination!!! 🙂

    Like

  5. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    I like them all, each one has different and interesting things that grab me!

    Like

  6. davisbrotherlylove says :

    The top one is the most watercolorish, but I like them all too. I think it would be much more difficult to do in oils.

    Like

  7. Dave Whatt says :

    Ho ho! Great!…

    Like

  8. davekingsbury says :

    The toes are tricky … only four visible on each foot. Still, cartoonists often content themselves with three fingers …

    Like

Leave a Reply

