Self-Portrait #17: block print after Vanessa Bell

sp-17-comp

I’ve been wanting to do some printing, and since Vanessa Bell, my current artist reference in “100 Self Portraits”, did woodcuts as illustrations for many of her sister Virginia Woolf’s books, I had the perfect excuse.  I used one of the prints that I embellished with paint and embroidery for “Straw Hat”, but here’s the original print in two versions with the print from Bell that I used as a reference.

sp-17-collage-s

Of course, I can never leave well enough alone.  So I painted, embroidered, and collaged on some of the prints I made.

sp-17-watercolor-s

I also have another embroidery idea that I haven’t had time to do yet.  It’s on the list.

You can see all of the self-portraits in this series here.

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

33 responses to “Self-Portrait #17: block print after Vanessa Bell”

  1. Jodi says :

    Very cool! So creative!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Victo Dolore says :

    I really love these.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. merrildsmith says :

    Very cool!
    For some reason, the bottom one makes me think of Joni Mitchell–like that would be the soundtrack. Maybe something from “Hissing of Summer Lawns?” Or maybe it’s just me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kirkistan says :

    Wow I like these.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. colorpencil2014 says :

    Gorgeous!! You are on a creative roll right?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. memadtwo says :

    Those eyes! I love the one you collaged over. Maybe a whole new direction for you. Really fabulous work, K.

    Like

  7. Snehal Kank says :

    This is so amazing 😍I just loved it so much 💕I don’t have words to express, just loved it 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  8. bymarion says :

    This is so, so inspiring! I love your work!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Claudia McGill says :

    Just. WOW. And I love the theme and variations aspect.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. outsideauthority says :

    Fabulous, so much talent!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. artandmoondreams says :

    These prints are fantastic! Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

