Sunday sketches

A trip to the art store the other day because I was out of black paper and I wanted some. Sketching on black paper is different than on white because it gives great contrast. These are a combination of gouache and colored pencil. 

I’ve been inspired by Jack at Davisbrotherlylove who does some cool abstractions. I just let the white pencil start moving on the paper and see where it goes. 

The third one turned into a couple of wacky oak leaves. 

Tags: ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

8 responses to “Sunday sketches”

  1. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    Beautiful and different

    Like

  2. memadtwo says :

    Thanks Lyn, fun to do.

    Like

  3. memadtwo says :

    Good job Nina. I too am tempted to take Jack’s ideas and take them for a ride, but I’m scattered enough right now. Glad you did though! (K)

    Like

  4. merrildsmith says :

    What fun! I really like the oak leaves. 🙂

    Like

  5. Jodi says :

    These are awesome Nina! Makes me want some black paper! 🙂

    Like

  6. Claudia McGill says :

    Extra like,especially # 2.

    Like

  7. davisbrotherlylove says :

    I love the black paper! Vibrant colors!

    Like

    • Neacanicum Notes says :

      These oak leaves look vaguely familiar. Like avocado leaves. Like so many reasons growing on a tree. If it’s all practice, or the experience of practice, then making Art is enjoying the contrasts and living without the conflicts. Black paper. And scratchboard. Not that I could much.
      We celebrate that you master the stable environment within which to create. Klee’s notebooks are instructive. I still like The Mustard Seed Garden Manual (it has more pitchers). — THGg

      Like

Leave a Reply

