Beach I Ching 14

justice-21-comp

#21 Shih Ho    Justice

Justice
the search for truth
insisting on fairness
develop balance in all things
order

Balance
in proportion
everything connected
conscious awareness in circles
center

Essence
fundamental
cutting out illusions
exposing the center of truth
the heart

Aware
alert mindful
truth and integrity
actions lead to consequences
insight

Insight
looking deeply
wisdom decides action
everything is connected
vision

Lucent
thunder lightning
destruction and cleansing
rise up and cast out negatives
blazing

Alive
breathing growing
keep making connections
use power for the good of all
kinship

Honest
the quest for truth
stop speaking and listen
light revealing unobstructed
open

The truth
integrity
eyes open light shining
seeing through illusion and lies
exposed

I’ve been considering this hexagram since August.  The classical name for it is “Biting Through”, and the classical interpretations are all about punishment.  But the words “justice” and “truth” kept popping up as I searched through different translations and commentaries, and I think those words are closer to the spirit of the lines.

“The Quotable I Ching” actually called it Justice in one of its posts, suggesting that a look at the tarot card Justice would also provide insight.  And it did.

The cinquain cycle is a compilation of ideas from the various commentaries on Shih Ho that I read though and thought about as I looked at the hexagram.  As seems to be always the case, its wisdom is needed in the time and place the world is inhabiting right now.

You can see all the Beach I Chings I’ve done so far here.

Tags: , , , , , ,

16 responses to “Beach I Ching 14”

  1. colorpencil2014 says :

    Beautiful, intens work! Love all three them very much! xo Johanna

  2. elmediat says :

    Very effective use of text & visual compositions. Well done. 🙂

  3. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    I really like this! Nice!

  4. rivrvlogr says :

    Every bit of it comes back to introspection. Very well done.

  5. Jennifer G. Knoblock says :

    There is a circularity to this that fits the cinquain form so well.

  6. MK says :

    I really like this.

  7. dragonscaleclippings says :

    I love this cinquain sequence – so precise and so complete!

  8. stevetanham says :

    Love that! I used to do the I Ching, but I’ve not used it for a while. Thank you.

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks! I hadn’t looked at the I Ching for quite awhile before the shells began arranging themselves a few years ago. I definitely get different wisdom from it as a mature adult than I did in my 20s

Leave a Reply

