Postcard Fiction: Dreaming is Free

dreaming-is-free-s

Jane Dougherty’s microfiction challenge #15, “Freedom”, was posted way back in September.  I liked the painting by Ilya Repin (below) so much that I did it twice.  Above is the first response.

1024px-ilya_repin-what_freedom

ocean-1-text-comp

In the middle of the ocean
time fades into mystery
a journey illuminated
by movement translated into form.
What lies beneath this dream?

hands-2s

 

Tags: , , , , ,

17 responses to “Postcard Fiction: Dreaming is Free”

  1. merrildsmith says :

    I love this–mysterious and magical!

  2. Jodi says :

    I love this so much. Your creativity blows me away! So much to look at and contemplate. Thank you k!

  3. Jane Dougherty says :

    This must be one of your best ones yet! I love the abandon of it. It was certainly worth waiting for—thank you!

    • memadtwo says :

      I hope you have not given up prompting us entirely…

      • Jane Dougherty says :

        Funny you should ask. While I was looking for a picture of my Hildr, I found a gorgeous prompt painting. I wanted to take a bit of a step back from the blog commitment because I’ve not been on tip top form and there’s a lot going on here. But I’m getting to the end of another novel and then the depression will set in because I won’t know what to do with it. Blogging prompts might be the answer. Take my mind off literary rejections anyway 🙂

      • memadtwo says :

        I know it’s a big commitment…and it’s appreciated. It would be a nice celebration to finishing the novel.

      • Jane Dougherty says :

        I keep thinking I’m almost there, then I write another chapter, add another character’s point of view. Have to stop somewhere though. Soon. Promise 🙂

  4. Jane Dougherty says :

    Reblogged this on Jane Dougherty Writes and commented:
    An extremely late and extremely precious entry to the ‘Freedom’ challenge.

  5. Teresa Robeson says :

    Your interpretations of different pieces are always amazing! Often, I like yours better than the original.

Leave a Reply

