Postcard Fiction: A Call to Arms (Freedom #2)

brave-soul-1s

heedless-sky-2s

dance-3s

imagination-4s

dance-of-fate-5s

When I began my response to Jane Dougherty’s prompt “Freedom”, I first looked in my collage box of faces for couples that seemed to work together.  At the same time I was thinking about the Secret Keeper’s words for the week of October 3rd:  BRAVE – TEND – PURE – LEAD – DANCE .

I decided to do a Cento Poem, one that takes its lines from the works of other poets.  I like to play with words, and this is also a good excuse to read a lot of different poetry by a lot of different poets.  So I collected poetic phrases that contained the words (not that difficult with google at your fingertips) and played around with different arrangements.

dance-of-fate-s

This couple seemed to fit the spirit of the words.  And given the state of the world, perhaps I was anticipating the state of mind I would need for 2017…

1024px-ilya_repin-what_freedom

O my brave soul!
Untended there beneath the heedless sky
leap and sparkle, dance and shine
in a world of pure imagination
Up and lead the dance of Fate!

 Poets, in order of appearance:
Walt Whitman, Sidney Lanier, Sarojini Naidu, Roald Dahl, Aeschylus

poets-6s

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

23 responses to “Postcard Fiction: A Call to Arms (Freedom #2)”

  1. Jane Dougherty says :

    I like this one too, and the words fit perfectly the earnest expressions of your characters.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. merrildsmith says :

    It all fits together so perfectly! I love how the couple seem to looking at each other–earnestly, as Jane says.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. rivrvlogr says :

    The gray splash, lower-left, gives the feel of a mermaid’s tail – as if this is the meeting of two worlds and a decision to move from one to the other.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Teresa Robeson says :

    I admire how well you not only keep up with the challenges but also manage to make meaningful and beautiful art. Often when I try to do challenges, I find myself running out of time and doing a half-assed job of it. :}

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jodi says :

    love these characters and the words and how you put it all together – once again – blown away!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. kestrelart says :

    You have a collage box?

    Cool piece
    Happy New Year to you both, Nina and Kerfe

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

