Parrot (Draw a Bird Day)

parrot-s

Parroting

Language becoming
noise words without meaning
footnotes to the air

Answers taken given
traded for babble

Particles of lies shared
on repeat screeching
chaos manifested

I meant to write a quadrille (44 words) with the secret keeper’s words this week, but I wasn’t paying attention really, and the “6-5-6-5-6-5-6-5” I wrote down beside each line became syllables instead of words.  I also meant it to be more about the birds. I used all the words though!

Now to the subject at hand:  The parrot is painted with the new gouache I got for Christmas.  I wanted to do something bright and colorful to start, and a parrot seemed the perfect subject.

Parrots are symbolically associated with voices, words, communication, and the power of truth.  They do not keep secrets.  They are also linked to color magic.  And, like many birds, they serve as messengers between heaven and earth.

They are also endangered, due to habitat loss and the pet trade.  These intelligent sub-tropical birds can live 80-100 years; a pet parrot is a lifetime investment, requiring enormous amounts of attention, care, and intellectual stimulation to thrive.  Needless to say, both birds and humans are better served by leaving these social animals in their natural habitats, and protecting those habitats.

Tags: , , , , ,

20 responses to “Parrot (Draw a Bird Day)”

  1. Teresa Robeson says :

    It’s so sad that so many birds and other animals are endangered due to human causes. 😢 Love your painting though! And I love that you combine poetry with art. I can barely get one done at a time. 😄

  2. First Night Design says :

    Gosh, is it that time of year already?! This is glorious.

  3. Sand Salt Moon says :

    Vibrant and expressive! Happy 8th of the month!

  4. kestrelart says :

    Lovely vibrant colours
    I didn’t know about draw a bird day

  5. kestrelart says :

    I’m either being dim or am in a time warp. On google, draw a bird day is 8th of April not January.

    • memadtwo says :

      Oh, we’ve been doing it on the 8th of every month for awhile, it started with April 8 a few years ago. Laura at CreateArtEveryday used to sponsor it, but she’s been offline for awhile. Just an excuse to draw a bird once a month!

  6. colorpencil2014 says :

    So lovely to start the day with a splash of color! love it! Cheers, Johanna

  7. merrildsmith says :

    I love your accidental not-a-quadrille! And the parrot, too.I didn’t know about the symbolism or their long life spans.

    • memadtwo says :

      Somehow I always think of syllables and not words…I’ll have to try a real quadrille one of these days. A friend’s sister used to own parrots, so I knew about the long life spans, and the intense care needed, but I didn’t know about the symbolism either. I like color magic!

  8. Snehal Kank says :

    What a lovely refreshing colors 😍🎨

  9. That Nobody Art Blog says :

    I am in love with this!

Leave a Reply

