Landscape on black paper

With a shout out to Jeandrawingaday who often plays with lines and marks on paper. 

Tags:

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

20 responses to “Landscape on black paper”

  1. Gale Halpern says :

    Nina– LOVE IT! (But I could say that about pretty much all your art work!) You are prodigious lately (where do you get the time, with everything else you do?), but your followers thank you for it. Love, Gale

    Liked by 1 person

  2. outsideauthority says :

    This looks excellent. Love how the marks pop out. It’s as if a map maker has gone mad with the map key symbols on the ground itself

    Like

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks for your interesting comment. Working on black paper in colored pencil works a lot better than paint–the paper is too thin to hold the paint.

      Liked by 1 person

    • kestrelart says :

      OA
      Perhaps we should have a memadtwo challenge day? Go drawing outdoors but only in the style of N and K?

      Liked by 1 person

      • memadtwo says :

        I’m game. I’m sure Kerfe is too. Good idea.

        Like

      • kestrelart says :

        Ah .. but my point is we here take our inspiration from you two there.

        It’s a kind of a tribute but also a structured artistic challenge. I enjoy and admire your posts. I shouldn’t be presumptuous but it seems clear to me that OA feels the same. The two of us know each other through our blogs and met up to draw just after xmas. An issue for me is to take my drawing outside my comfort zone, make me see differently. OA’s way of seeing challenges me and so does each of yours. So I was suggesting we look at landscape but take ideas for building the images from you, as a way to expand our (or perhaps just my) horizons. For example, I might use collage, word groups etc to create an image outdoors: you create in very different ways to me. It would also make me look in more depth at how you each work.

        I put the idea on your blog on the spur of the thought, but it also seemed appropriate to share with you.

        But if you are suggesting we join with you in a shared approach in some way on the same day, I’d be up for that.

        Like

      • outsideauthority says :

        So much to choose from!

        Like

  3. kestrelart says :

    This is gorgeous. I’d love to be able to abstract like this.

    Like

  4. Teresa Robeson says :

    I really love the texture that you managed to evoke here!

    Like

  5. memadtwo says :

    Stitched lines! And the pink sky glows. (K)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jodi says :

    Oh so fun! Did you use pastels too?

    Like

  7. Jill Kuhn says :

    Your combination of marks and paper is perfect!! 🎨👍

    Liked by 1 person

  8. jeandrawingaday says :

    Thanks for the shout out! I love your marks, such great pattern and contrast. I recently got a white pen – opened up a whole new dimension for me!

    Like

  9. merrildsmith says :

    This is so cool. I can see all sorts of images here–a giant creature lying on the bank of a river. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

