Shift

nebula-shift-s

Darkness gathers light
treasure of expanding grace
jewel of vastness

Invitation to enter
follow  turn around  exchange

For my response to Sue Vincent’s prompt this week, I used as background a photo taken by the Hubble Space Telescope of the Egg Nebula, a dying star 3000 light years away.

golden-dawn

The photo actually shows the cloud of dust surrounding the star, as the star can’t be seen directly.  How do they know these things?  You can read more about it here.

nebula-shift-close-up-s

The tanka is for Colleen’s challenge this week.  I used “grace” instead of “beauty”, as I think that word is very hard to use in poetry without descending into cliché.

jewel-shift-s

I also did a painted and collaged response, using the mandala form I’m stuck in these days.

jewel-shift-close-up-s

Still in need of centering.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

20 responses to “Shift”

  1. Sue Vincent says :

    I’m loving the mandalas 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jodi says :

    so beautiful – so deep! Your words are really sinking in to me today. Very meaningful!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. davekingsbury says :

    You are resolutely creative, always looking out for art possibilities … so admirable!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Colleen Chesebro says :

    How gorgeous and creative your words and mandellas are. I will add you to last week’s post. The week our words are bloom and late. I can’t wait to see what you come up with. You always bring a smile to my face. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Teresa Robeson says :

    Those are wonderful pieces! Of course I love the one that uses the Hubble image the best. I wrote a nonfiction picture book manuscript about nebulae and have a special fondness for them. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. memadtwo says :

    Beautiful and profound.

    Like

  7. Claudia McGill says :

    Beautiful and meaningful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

