Mask of the Galaxy (inspired by Nina’s skull mask)

mask-of-the-galaxy-1s

searching bloodlines
for resemblances
light and dark
collecting dust
into faces present yet
progressively veiled

Nina’s painted skull mask inspired me to do a collage mask–I haven’t done one in quite awhile.  I bought some books of space photos at a library sale, and I’ve been using them quite a bit for my collages, as you may have noticed.  Except for some blue sky, all the colors in the collage come from space photos of the great beyond.

The poem uses this week’s words from the secret keeper, and thoughts from reading about the Egg Nebula.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

26 responses to “Mask of the Galaxy (inspired by Nina’s skull mask)”

  1. Jodi says :

    creative use of library sale space book photos!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    Love this so colorful

    Liked by 1 person

  3. memadtwo says :

    I’m honored and I love what you’ve done with this!

    Like

  4. Snehal Kank says :

    You are very creative 😍 I really enjoyed this symmetrical collage 👍🏼

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kestrelart says :

    You two are so creative – I love your collaboration and your separate creativities.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    This is just so cool! Fabulous response and the symmetry and color are fantastic!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. davisbrotherlylove says :

    Skull and insect-like at once. Great composition and color combinations, K.
    j

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jill Kuhn says :

    I like the affect of torn paper in this collage. It adds a nice element. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pat B says :

    Wow! You not only are a talented artist, but write beautiful poetry as well.

    Here is my link which I was unable to add on secretkeeper’s page for this challenge. I do not have a wordpress account. I use blogger for my posts.

    https://aseasonandatime.blogspot.com/2017/01/weekly-writing-challenge-71.html

    Like

Leave a Reply

