1969, poem by Kerfe Roig (ME, AT 17 Poetry and Prose Series)

My thoughts about my 17th year…
(yes, I’m still humming the songs from “Hair”)

Silver Birch Press

roig1969
by Kerfe Roig

My only thought what
I was not. Uninvited.
Unrequited. But

Beautiful feeling
The Age of Aquarius
New day is coming

These new voices gave
more choices: one of many
singing harmony.

What am I to do?
Time to sit down and wonder
Better get ready

With guitar and Hair
going where an opening
mind left fear behind.

SONGS FROM 1969 BILLBOARD TOP 100 REFERENCED IN THE POEM:
“Crimson and Clover,” “Aquarius,” “Crystal Blue Persuasion,” “Going in Circles,” and “Too Busy Thinking About My Baby.”

IMAGE: Psychedelic self-portrait by Kerfe Roig.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: At 17, I was lost, a bundle of insecurities. The music of that tumultuous year, 1969, helped me to find a place to belong both with my peers and in the world, while at the same time opening my thinking to new possibilities.

roig_portraitABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Kerfe Roig
enjoys transforming words and images…

View original post 23 more words

12 responses to “1969, poem by Kerfe Roig (ME, AT 17 Poetry and Prose Series)”

  1. Jodi says :

    what a great poem and piece of artwork from a wonderful collaboration of songs that help create the wonderful woman who grew out of that insecure 17 year old! 🙂 ❤

  2. memadtwo says :

    Really great work. I wish we had taped ourselves singing “Desperado” back in the day. Good times.

  3. Jill Kuhn says :

    Awesome collage! 🎨👍 I still like so many of the songs from that time. It is wonderful how art and music can transform us, isn’t it? ❤

  4. merrildsmith says :

    Wonderful, Kerfe. Of course, I also thought of Janis Ian’s “At Seventeen.”

  5. seekingpeaceiii says :

    I love the poem, love that year, and love that music. I was only 9 years old in 1969, and I clearly remember playing a board game with my older brother while listening to Bob Dylan singing “Desolation Row.” Good times, I think I was and am a hippie at heart. Peace & Love, Pamela

Leave a Reply

