Mother and Daughter

One of the first drawings I remember doing was something like this. It was the first thing I ever sold to a friend of my mother’s; this lady was very supportive of my art and it thrilled me to sell something. I wish I still had that piece. It was white paper with the geometric shapes drawn in black. 

I really enjoy drawing at work on the Strathmore black paper. The paper takes colored pencil really well and the white pencil is almost down to a nub. 

Tags: , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

16 responses to “Mother and Daughter”

  1. The Poetry Channel says :

    I like the way the facial features are implied in different ways with the same triangles because of the contrast. Excellent.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Renard Moreau says :

    [ Smiles ] Very nice artwork!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. memadtwo says :

    I love the black and white Nina. Also an appropriate image for the women’s march on Saturday!

    Like

  4. Jodi says :

    Very cool. Do you do art while on conference calls or lunch break or is work just not busy? Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. memadtwo says :

    I sneak it in. My boss is my husband and he doesn’t care. I get the job done : ).

    Like

  6. Teresa Robeson says :

    I also love the effect of colored pencils on black paper…love the mosaic look of this, too!

    Like

  7. merrildsmith says :

    I like the black and white, and I agree the shapes are like a mosaic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

