Magic is Afoot

magic-is-afoot-s

Where am I?
turned inward or out?
My vision
flattens then
expands into parallel
manifestations.

Light reflects
and deceives, recedes
and unbinds
boundaries,
expands into a funhouse
of porous passage.

Do I dream?
Is the opening
linked elsewhere,
imprinted
on the closeted shadows
of unconsciousness?

Light echoes
past peripheries
and flashbacks.
The darkness
coils.  I have been here before:
in pause, on the edge.

glaston6-024

My response to Sue Vincent’s “Lantern” prompt this week.  The title is taken from Buffy Sainte-Marie’s wonderful song “God is Alive, Magic is Afoot” (co-written with Leonard Cohen).  You can read the full lyrics and link to YouTube videos here.

magic-is-afoot-close-up-s

 

Tags: , , , ,

15 responses to “Magic is Afoot”

  1. merrildsmith says :

    Oh my–I love this so much! Time, space, light, magic–just wonderful. I love the bottom close-up photo. To me, the figure looks like an angel caught between different worlds. Hmmmm. . .I may have to write about that. 🙂

  2. Jodi says :

    This is possibly my favorite ever of your writings! This needs to be published! Absolutely amazing!

  3. Sue Vincent says :

    I really like this, Kerfe… it captures something of both the magic and confusion of perception.

  4. Jennifer G. Knoblock says :

    I found this heartening today, especially the first stanza and these last lines:

    I have been here before:
    in pause, on the edge.

    Thank you for sharing it.

  5. memadtwo says :

    I’ll have to look up that song later. I like what you’re doing with the cut out paper, mysterious windows into the rest of the collage.

  6. davisbrotherlylove says :

    Beautiful image and poem, K.

Leave a Reply

