Drawing Constellations

drawing-constellations-s

Drawing constellations in skies of dream,
landscaped as colors growing wild, extreme,
pulsing surrounding vibrations unseen,
in star-gathered moonlight, whispering beam
unconscious, unlimited, in between

Continuing my recent star theme…I actually did this awhile ago, but I’ve been tweaking the poem on and off.  This is for Jane Dougherty’s last poetry challenge posted back in the end of September.  The poetic form was her own invention:  a single stanza of five lines of ten syllables each, and the five end of line words all rhyme.   Here’s the artwork she provided:

File:Constellations1.jpg

I miss Jane’s prompts.

Tags: , , ,

26 responses to “Drawing Constellations”

  1. colorpencil2014 says :

    I wish I could respond every day…becuase every day I enjoy your blog!!! I am going to experiment with black background too, you have inspired me! xo Johanna ps of to Miss Jane, that art work is stunning too

  2. Jane Dougherty says :

    Your collage could be her spinning thoughts. I like the way you make the rhyme drive the wheel round for another turn. And the imagery of stars, spinning off into space is lovely. I miss having the energy for the prompts. Maybe when it gets warmer…

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Jane. I have done so much work that I like, inspired by your prompts. You have a touch.
      But I know how much energy it takes, especially to put everything together each week. Maybe just every once in awhile?

      • Jane Dougherty says :

        I’m not sure anyone would notice if I didn’t make it a regular feature. I had a lot of visitors to my blog when I ran the poetry and microfiction challenges, far fewer now. I spent an awful lot of time not only on the challenges themselves, but replying to comments and visiting other blogs. I can only really justify the time if it’s helping me get somewhere. When the weather gets warmer I’ll maybe start again. Not feeling too dynamic at the moment.

      • memadtwo says :

        Me either. I can blame it on Trump, but I think it’s just general malaise.

      • Jane Dougherty says :

        The more we know about the disasters we’re creating, socially and ecologically, the harder it is to pretend they don’t exist. I realise that in making ‘American great again’ that will mean inevitably a whole raft of populations are going to have to suffer a bit more, but that’s Christian love and charity for you.

      • memadtwo says :

        Isn’t it though.

  3. jasperkerkauwriting says :

    I absolutely love the artwork. Amazing.

  4. Jodi says :

    “unconscious, unlimited, in between” LOVE!

  5. tayoulevy says :

    Reblogged this on Tayoulevy’s Weblog and commented:
    very, very beautiful

  6. memadtwo says :

    I really like rhyming poetry and I love this. And the spider web in the center looks like crochet. The whole thing is very lovely.

  7. merrildsmith says :

    I love this–art and poem.
    I had forgotten this form that Jane invented. I miss her prompts, too.

  8. Jill Kuhn says :

    Your poem is wonderful, Kerfe! And I like both of your art pieces. Your first one reminds me of a kaleidoscope. 😃

  9. brandonknoll says :

    Very original. Love the work. Check my art out if you have the chance 🙂

Leave a Reply

