Less than Zero

mirrored-by-air-and-stone-s

White shadow reflected
through cast open portal.
Half circles connected by darkened light.

The time unexpected,
hours and minutes now mortal.
Computations:  less than day, more than night.

Mirrored by stone and air,
reversed by the missed turning.
Witnessed by the journey:  unbidden sight.

Bottomless and aware,
the catalyst is burning.
Attached to nothing.  Gravity takes flight.

In response to Sue Vincent’s “Waiting” photo prompt this week, below.

waiting

I tend to fall back on the same poetic forms, so I’m going push myself more to sample a new one every now and then.  Different numbers of syllables/lines/rhymes reflect words differently, and definitely sharpen the thought process.  I couldn’t resist trying this one on account of the name:  “kerf”.  You can read about it here.

mirrored-by-air-and-stone-close-up-s

Tags: , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

13 responses to “Less than Zero”

  1. The Poetry Channel says :

    Nice. Thanks for the info on a new form, for me. Just when you think you’ve read about all of them.
    I recently learned of a few Korean forms I was previously unaware of.
    Ever the student, ever growing, I guess. I hope.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jodi says :

    I love it! The kerf!!! 😝

    Liked by 1 person

  3. rivrvlogr says :

    Well played on the image.
    And, that’s quite a reference for forms.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. merrildsmith says :

    How cool to have a poetry form named for you! (:) ) I will have to try it.
    Well done with the poem!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Fabulous! Love the imagery and as for the words, let’s just say you were meant to “kerf” – beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sue Vincent says :

    Not a form I was aware of at all…but how perfect 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

