At the Hawk’s Well

hawk-comp-1

In 1916, W. B. Yeats wrote a dance play, “At the Hawk’s Well”, inspired by Japanese Noh theatre (to which he had been introduced by Ezra Pound) and Irish folklore.

pound-and-mask

The Japan Society recently had an exhibit of UK artist Simon Starling’s commemoration of the 100th anniversary of Yeats’ work, along with some of the art that inspired both him and Yeats.

ito-mask-comp

I watched the beautiful video of the hawk dancing several times

hawk-comp-3

and then I drew masks until my hand cramped up and my legs hurt from standing.

old-man-young-man

When I looked at the drawings, it struck me how humans have always struggled to understand and live their lives well.  We are united in both sorrow and dignity, all cultures, throughout history, all over the earth.

hawk-comp-2

 

Tags: , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

20 responses to “At the Hawk’s Well”

  1. merrildsmith says :

    It sounds like a profound experience. Wise words, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rebecca says :

    I love the textures of your mask pictures, but my favourite sketch is the flowing figure at the top – just beautifully full of movement. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jodi says :

    Your masks our amazing and your thoughts profound

    Liked by 1 person

  4. colorpencil2014 says :

    Beautiful post and beautiful work! xo Johanna

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jill Kuhn says :

    Your sketches are fabulous, Kerfe! 😃 They “unmask” the truth about our need to connect. Thank you for sharing these images.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Teresa Robeson says :

    So lovely in so many ways! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. davisbrotherlylove says :

    I like the masks and the hawk!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sand Salt Moon says :

    Very interesting, I did not know that about Yates. How does your hand feel? I enjoy what you created this day.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sean says :

    I saw this in NYC and wish I could respond with drawings like yours. The mind map was fascinating too. The story I thought resonated with Beckett, so I noticed the reference to Waiting for Godot. The exhibited drawing of the Hawke character in the relief also reminded me of the Anunnaki depicted in Mesopotamian frieze. Interesting comment you make above about isolationism.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Sean. I love masks and I have looked at and drawn them from many times and places. The references you make to stories and sculpture are equally applicable–the differences we make up to keep us apart are superficial. The connections are everywhere, and easy to see.

      Like

Leave a Reply

