February 2017: Crows, Tides, Time

feb-2017-gird-crows-s

They end their flight
one by one–
crows at dusk
–Buson

crow-close-up-3

Shape-shifting in the gap,
the border of the map a light
of shadowing, not quite
prepared to reunite the tide
with ebb and flow implied
by intervals inside of time,
the pause between the line,
the missing paradigm unfilled,
the end of something.  Stilled.

low-tide

I’m a bit late with my February grid, but I thought it complemented Sue Vincent’s “Low Tide” prompt this week, so I did my own poem in response to both Buson and the photo (above).

crow-close-up-1

Once again, I tried a new poetry form; this one is Vietnamese.  It’s called Luc Bat, and you can read about it here.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

27 responses to “February 2017: Crows, Tides, Time”

  1. Jodi says :

    beautifully done Kerfe!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. memadtwo says :

    I really like poems that rhyme and I really love this, and the imagery as well. Perfect!

    Like

  3. merrildsmith says :

    I really like this, Kerfe. The poem is beautiful–what a cool form!–and I like your grid with the bird images.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Merril. This poetic form was a challenge…I changed the rhyming words many times! But I like the resulting rhythm a lot. And I never get tired of grids (or birds).

      Like

  4. Jennifer G. Knoblock says :

    Really lovely–all of it. The sounds in the poem are so rich. Going to check out the form!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Prajakta says :

    An incredible piece of work !! Complex yet beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

  6. robbiesinspiration says :

    Two very nice poems.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Teresa Robeson says :

    One of my favorite piece of art of yours! ❤ I took a couple of poetry classes, but I'm still learning new forms from you!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    This is just cool… love the imagery and the poem is wonderful. The last word is particularly brilliant.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. davisbrotherlylove says :

    I love the palette of grays, Kerfe!
    j

    Liked by 1 person

  10. kestrelart says :

    I love this piece. A great composition

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

