Tribal deer skull

img_3890

I like to pretend I’m a member of a tribe when I paint a skull. I imagine it’s going to be used for a ceremony. This is one of the deer skulls I got last week: a wonderful specimen, probably a pretty young buck with developing antlers. 

Here is a view with the antlers and my messy bedroom in the photo. 

Tags:

28 responses to “Tribal deer skull”

  1. Gale Halpern says :

    Outstanding. I’m sure any tribe would be honored by your skull artwork.

  2. Carol A. More says :

    VERY cool! In my neck of the woods, the Cherokee Indian Nation sees a deer as a symbol of peace and a clan totem. It’s right and good you feel yourself as a member of the tribe while honoring these magnificent creatures!

  3. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    Wonderful! Beautiful colours and design.

  4. Jodi says :

    Very coool Nina! Love the colors and all the eyes!

  5. REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate says :

    Wow super cool, I love it 😀

  6. memadtwo says :

    Thanks for your kind words.

  7. merrildsmith says :

    It’s really cool. I love the colors, but it seems alive, and I have to admit, the eyes kind of scare me.

  8. Melba Christie at Poemattic says :

    I love it. How have you been?

  9. Evelyn Flint says :

    This is so wonderfully colourful and imaginative!

  10. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    So beautiful… the intricate patterns and wonderful color combinations! 😍

  11. Teresa Robeson says :

    It’s marvelous…a bit of you, a bit of nature in a happy marriage of art!

Leave a Reply

