Unmasked

french-mask

Lines that quote
the face, the hair, the
reign of years
first captured by sculpted earth.
Copy as copy copied.
Serial disguise.

I went to the Met to see Max Beckmann (excellent) and ended up drawing masks, as usual.  The one above is French, from the 1800’s, sculpted on a vessel of some sort.

twisted-face-mask-s

I drew this Mexican “twisted face mask” (dated 600-900) twice, because it looked very different from each side.  It reminded me of Jack Davis’ artistic attempts to define his relationship to his autistic brother Mike.  It must have been based on a member of the community, providing a link to the long-standing effort of humans to consider and include those who fall outside the spectrum of “normal”.

grinning-monkey

This grinning monkey from the Ivory Coast also caught my eye.

The poem uses the Secret Keeper’s prompt words this week.

I’ll be here a bit irregularly for awhile as I have some projects I need to finish…

Tags: , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

18 responses to “Unmasked”

  1. colorpencil2014 says :

    oh to be able to casually say:” I went to met and saw max beckman…”!!! My favorite museum in the world…so far away ;o) I love masks in general and your studies are awesome!!! (using this word in this context is totally justifiable! ) xo Johanna

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Jodi says :

    So awesome that you get to do this. New York New York!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. davisbrotherlylove says :

    Thanks for the shout out, Kerfe. I appreciate that! Your drawings are exceptional!!
    j

    Liked by 1 person

  4. memadtwo says :

    Great drawings. They express so much in their lines and strokes.

    Like

  5. Sand Salt Moon says :

    Interesting mask drawings. I am drawn to the poetry. Such unique lines.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. rivrvlogr says :

    The St. Louis Art Museum has an extensive Max Beckmann collection. I can see his influence in the second mask, above. Maybe it’s the eyebrows.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. merrildsmith says :

    Such interesting drawings. I particularly liked these line in the poem:
    “Lines that quote
    the face, the hair, the
    reign of years”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

