wavering

foggy-woods-s

dislocated map
the trees have changed positions
air and light play tricks

hiding in the miasma
the zone between yes and no

I was inspired by Colleen’s tanka challenge photo this week to pick up a brush and paint, something I haven’t done much of lately.  I used gouache instead of watercolor on the rice paper, which is worth trying again I think.

Tags: , , ,

30 responses to “wavering”

  1. Jodi says :

    Your painting is bright and not overworked and truly beautiful! THe words resonate deeply.

  2. outsideauthority says :

    I really like it. It links to something we were watching on tv last night – the art of france where the presenter was noting Cezanne’s double outline and comparing it to looking at your finger from one eye then the other. The visual ‘jump’ experienced suggests everything is in motion. I like the thought of jostling trees

  3. merrildsmith says :

    Wonderful poem and the paintings–both sort of mysterious, hiding, perhaps moving. I love “the zone between yes and no.”

  4. Teresa Robeson says :

    I know exactly what you mean about rice paper! I spent a month in October working on it. It was so hard. 🙂 Such a perfect pairing of painting and words!

  5. memadtwo says :

    The brush is glad you took it up. This has a great Cezanne-like quality about it. I love the negative space between the trees. It is really good, K.

  6. Colleen Chesebro says :

    I love your painting! Fog and mist are some of my favorite mediums. It’s all about the mystery and allure of what is normal vs. abnormal. Your Tanka is exceptional. If I inspired you to paint – Wow! I have goosebumps! Bravo. You did an amazing job! ❤

  7. Jill Kuhn says :

    I enjoyed your poem and your painting. Painting has a way of clearing my mind, making me slow down and perhaps “lifting the fog” of my mind. I like that you painted on rice paper. I will have to give it a try! 😊

  8. Sunshine Jansen says :

    To me this is a wonderfully quantum mechanical pairing. I see portals in the tree trunks.

  9. Marje @ Kyrosmagica says :

    Lovely tanka and painting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

