It’s Selfie Day! Self Portrait #18

sp18-comp-1

in-moon-skin-comp

Teresa reminded me on last month’s selfie day that I’ve been falling behind in my monthly self-portraits.  This is another one based on a Vanessa Bell painting, with commentary by the Magnetic Poetry Oracle.  I did it twice, although I’m not that crazy about either version.  Perhaps I’ve been away from painting for too long.  Or maybe it’s the blue in the eyes.

sp18-comp-b

dreaming
in elaborate languages
asleep
in moon skin
singing
beneath the shadow
of time

You can see the entire self-portrait series so far here.

Tags: , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

30 responses to “It’s Selfie Day! Self Portrait #18”

  1. Teresa Robeson says :

    Oh, I love it, Kerfe! I missed your self-portraits! The poem is very lovely, too. And thank *you* for reminding me this month. I don’t know if I’ll manage to get one done tomorrow but I’ll attempt something. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    Wonderfully Expressionist pictures. These are very powerful, I think. Well done, Kerfe!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. merrildsmith says :

    They are Expressionist like. They remind me a bit of Klee, I think?
    I love the poem–to dream in elaborate language with moonlike skin–timeless singing. . . wow!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jodi says :

    I LOVE how you did this! I love how you take a work of art and make it into your selfie! Awesome job!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Claudia McGill says :

    Each time you reveal another aspect of yourself in art, I feel the same is happening in how I know you. I love your self-portraits and today the accompanying poem made me just sigh in satisfaction as if we had had a visit.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Carol A. More says :

    Well, aren’t you a cutie pie!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Snehal Kank says :

    Oh I love it Kerfe! Liked the colors 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. davekingsbury says :

    Particularly like
    ‘dreaming
    in elaborate languages’

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Jill Kuhn says :

    I think both are awesome!! 😃 I didn’t notice the blue in the eyes until you mentioned it… and I think it shows emotion. I struggle with self-portraits so I applaud you for doing not one, but two!! Bravo!! 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. #selfie art day | One Good Thing - February 25, 2017
  2. Half a Haibun 5 | Work in Progress - March 15, 2017

Leave a Reply

