Bridge

blk-bridge-s

Light reveals an opening, a net
caught by what is broken, muddied, wet;
scattered stones and history unmet.

blk-wht-bridge

Tangled edges under/over ground,
traveling as lines that make no sound,
camouflaged by fragments lost, unbound.

What remains? The inside of the fray:
all the shadowed hours that mark the day.
Every path holds dreams, or so they say.

wht-bridge-s

I decided to do something a little different for Sue Vincent’s “Bridge” photo prompt, below, this week.  I took the photo and abstracted it and then painted it.  I wanted to have a subtle color variation, so I used only 5 colors (green, orange, 2 browns, and grey) plus black and white, and mixed them in different proportions.

beneath-the-bridge

The poem is in a form that Jane Dougherty used a few days ago, which has 3 stanzas of 3 rhyming lines each, with each line containing 9 syllables.  I liked the rhythm, and playing with numbers and words is something I enjoy.  I always find that thinking about rhymes, too, causes me to see things I might otherwise not.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

40 responses to “Bridge”

  1. janetweightreed10 says :

    I really like this …Janet

    Liked by 1 person

  2. deuxiemepeau says :

    so impressive and the abstract painting is wonderful

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jane Dougherty says :

    I love the effect! You create the atmosphere of the underside of the bridge beautifully.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jodi says :

    So so beautiful!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sue Vincent says :

    I love the three paintings, particularly the reflections. The poem captures the mood of the place and the inner reflections superbly too.

    Like

  6. outsideauthority says :

    This really dragged me in, but suddenly (apologies if it is in bad taste) I saw a sanitary towel?! Add some labels about ‘dry core’ ‘flexible fit’ and you have a high end, designer ‘feminine’ item for the woman who likes to make a statement in everything!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. merrildsmith says :

    I love how you did this–the image and the poem. “Every path holds dreams, or so they say.” (I’m going to have try this Trinity form of Jane’s.)

    I actually thought you had made a sculpture–it looks 3D to me.

    Liked by 2 people

    • memadtwo says :

      I think I’ll leave the sculpture to Nina for now! but that’s a nice complement. Jane has a knack…and this one has a rhythm I like a lot. Yes, try it!
      That last line went through quite a few iterations. I seem to keep revising even as I post…

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Snehal Kank says :

    Wow super amazing 👍🏼 looking at your reference photo and your artwork, you’ve translated it in such a fabulous way 😍😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

  9. moonminded says :

    Loving the color pallet and was surprised to read orange as a selection. Nice tip for me in thinking about how to use color.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    Very nice art and words!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. pensitivity101 says :

    I love the originality with the photoprompt. It works very well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. robbiesinspiration says :

    Lovely poem – I like the pictures too.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. D. Wallace Peach says :

    So creative, Jane. You’re inspiring. Beautiful poem 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. stevetanham says :

    Such a lovely picture.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

