It’s still the Year of the Rooster (Draw a Bird Day)

march rooster s

The crown of red
set on your little head
is charged with all your fighting blood.

Yes, that excrescence
makes a most virile presence,
plus all that vulgar beauty of iridescence.

–Elizabeth Bishop, “Roosters”
In honor of International Women’s Day, an excerpt from a poem by the wonderful Elizabeth Bishop.  You can read the entire work here.
March Rooster Fact:  This Year of the Rooster contains a leap month, to catch up the lunar calendar with the solar calendar.  So it will be 384 days long.
Drawing in Neocolors, smudged with wet paper towels.

Tags: , , , , ,

21 responses to “It’s still the Year of the Rooster (Draw a Bird Day)”

  1. colorpencil2014 says :

    Absolutely glorious!! Love the colors, the character, perfect!!!

  2. Jodi says :

    Love your rooster!!!! I keep meaning to paint one. 😉

  3. merrildsmith says :

    Splendid rooster–and Bishop’s poem, too!

  4. Susan Feniak says :

    A real beauty Kerfe. One day I will have to tackle painting a rooster portrait.

  5. Snehal Kank says :

    Stunning Rooster 🐓 I liked it so much 😍
    I found rooster anatomy is hard to draw, in my bird last series I stared to draw then ended up painting something else 😀
    Very well done 👍🏼

  6. Myriam (Myr's Bytes) says :

    An excrescence of iridescent feathers indeed! You captured the stately beauty and exuberance of the rooster. 🙂

  7. Poet Rummager says :

    That fine rooster ought to be proud of his radiance! I also love the poem you chose.

  8. Teresa Robeson says :

    Awesome way to combine Intl Women’s Day and Draw a Bird Day! I completely forgot about DaBD this month.

    • memadtwo says :

      It’s hard to keep track of the days…I hope you don’t follow through on your threat to leave WP completely. I’m irregular these days, but I still enjoy the dialogue.

      • Teresa Robeson says :

        I’ll still try to visit…but I can’t seem to get over to check out blogs except for a couple of times a week and even then, I can’t always find time to comment. Time just flies by faster and faster. Or I’m getting slower and slower. :}

      • memadtwo says :

        Oh, you’re so right. There is not enough time, and if you’re online then you’ve lost time to actually do things.

      • Teresa Robeson says :

        If only I needed a mere 3 hours of sleep instead of 8-9 I might get more accomplished. :}

Leave a Reply

