Beauty-Owed to Spring

A poem written by my father Joseph M Zimel. Tonight is the first night of Passover, a celebration loved by my mother. As we gather tonight at a Seder with friends I will remember my beloved parents. Kerfe told me it’s poetry month and I found a few of my dad’s poems. 


It is a beautiful day today. Despite some recent trials and tribulations I am optimistic. Passover celebrates my tribe’s journey from slavery to freedom as well as the rebirth of nature. I am glad to be alive. 

Tags: ,

22 responses to “Beauty-Owed to Spring”

  1. Gale Halpern says :

    Happy Passover, Nina. Wonderful drawing–so colorful for the sun and spring that’s coming (finally). Never knew your Dad wrote poetry. Lovely piece. Thanks for sharing. Love, Gale

    • memadtwo says :

      Happy Passover to you also, my friend. Hope you are doing well. Yes, my Dad and Mom both wrote poetry and prose. My dad was noted for rewriting song words to fit the occasion.

  2. merrildsmith says :

    What a lovely tribute to spring and to your parent’s memory. Passover is such a poignant holiday, I think. It seems full of memories of the past, even while there is joy.
    In our crazy, mixed-up family, we’re not actually having our family Seder until Saturday, but my husband and I will have a mini-Seder tonight.

    • memadtwo says :

      I agree, Passover is very poignant. It was my mom’s favorite holiday although she was not religious. The seder plate and all the symbols resonate with my Jewish soul. We are fortunate to have next door neighbors who treat us like revered aunts and uncles and always include us in their celebrations. The dad is Israeli and he knows his way around a seder : ).

      • merrildsmith says :

        I hope the Seder was wonderful! How wonderful that you have such terrific neighbors.
        My parents were not religious, and I grew up with little knowledge about Passover. The Seders we went to when I was teen with aunts and uncles were boring and unimaginative. An Israeli colleague told me that her family Seders were so much fun with singing, etc. So when our daughters were little we started having our own versions with a kind of Haggadah that I write and now funny plays that daughters write. 🙂

  3. Claudia McGill says :

    Happy Passover. I think you were very lucky in your parents, it sounds like, and I am touched by your dad’s poetry and your tribute to them. And Happy Spring! Happy Sunshine! Happy!

  4. megaeggz says :

    Your dad’s poems are great

    • memadtwo says :

      He was pretty talented. He used to write poems for almost every occasion. He was a great guy–part of the greatest generation. Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Jodi says :

    Oh Nina – so much to love here! So good to hear from you and see your art and read your dad’s words! Happy Passover!!

  6. rivrvlogr says :

    Your father’s poem is beautiful, and your art is a fitting tribute.

  7. memadtwo says :

    Beautiful NIna (K)

  8. davekingsbury says :

    Your dad’s poem has a natural reverence I wholly admire and your lovely sunny watercolour is the perfect accompaniment!

  9. Fibronacci says :

    That is a lovely painting, and the poem complements it well. 🙂

  10. Genie Geer says :

    All so fresh and hopeful!

  11. melbasnaturalbydesign says :

    Great to see your art again. Miss you.

Leave a Reply

