The Lady in the Mirror

That face in the mirror
Who is that old lady?
Not too many wrinkles but tired,
Worn out, bad hair, no makeup.

That’s me
looking back at myself.
I barely recognize myself
but it’s me. Vestiges of my mother
and I can see my sister in me too.
They were young once, now they’re gone.

I’m still here,
Invisible as older ladies are
But inside I am young, vibrant, alive.
Alive!

I was sitting at a planning board meeting in my town last night. The building where my husband has his medical practice is under contract with a large group and the application for a variance was being discussed; I went because I’m nosy and I wanted to find out what was happening with it. There was a ten minute break and I went into the ladies room. Either the light was terrible in there or I looked really, really bad. It was probably the latter. I barely recognized myself. Scary! but funny too.

Nina

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

15 responses to “The Lady in the Mirror”

  1. Jodi says :

    I totally know the feeling! Sometimes it is scary – and then other times I say “Heck! Just go with it!” 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Evelyn Flint says :

    We’ve all been there… !

    Liked by 1 person

  3. merrildsmith says :

    I totally get it! In my head, I see myself one way. Then I look in the mirror.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Carol A. More says :

    Nina, I despise bathroom lighting too. Seriously, our culture diminishes anyone who shows signs of age. The first time I realized – correction – was REMINDED I was old(er) was not a good moment; a milestone moment. We can only continue to raise our voices, pushing back ageism by creating CRRRAAAZZZZY artwork. I’m doing my part. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Susan Feniak says :

    I just avoid the mirrors. We all have those moments. Days.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. memadtwo says :

    I’m loving this poetic you. (there are advantages to being invisible…) (K)

    Like

  7. Jill Kuhn says :

    Oh, I think it was the lighting! 😉 Some days I look in the mirror and wonder how I got all those wrinkles… I don’t feel wrinkled on the INSIDE! I guess that is what counts – how I feel. 😊❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

