My Mother’s Shells

My mother (the aptly named Grace) never learned how to swim but she loved walking on the beach. She collected shells and beach glass everywhere from the Jersey shore to the south of France. She kept them in this huge glass container (which I dusted off for this photo); I keep it in a prominent spot in my home.  I have great respect for my mom. She lived in a difficult era–depression, war, and “a woman’s place was in the house”. She had ambitions, some of which were realized and some not. I owe a lot to her. I only hope I’ve been half as good to a tech-savvy millennial and I hope she remembers her grandmother on this day. 

Tags:

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

13 responses to “My Mother’s Shells”

  1. merrildsmith says :

    Happy Mother’s Day!

    Like

  2. Bel says :

    The shells look so pretty! I never even thought of collecting then until now.

    Like

  3. memadtwo says :

    She also collected beach glass.

    Like

  4. memadtwo says :

    I love the way your mom displayed her shells. That’s a beautiful tribute. (K)

    Like

  5. Sunshine Jansen says :

    A belated Happy Mother’s Day to you! What an amazing collection… My husband’s grandmother gathered a trove like this, which her children divvied up in creative ways. I have a lamp that’s filled with some of her most beautiful shells; never even knew before that someone had come up with a fillable lamp!

    Like

    • memadtwo says :

      What a great idea. I could probably have this one made into a lamp. When I dusted/washed it I saw how many different shells she collected, even some sponges!

      Like

  6. Jill Kuhn says :

    I have a large vase of shells too – collected by my Father-in-law. A wonderful way to remember someone special. 💜

    Like

Leave a Reply

