Honoring my father today

My father Joseph Zimel was part of the greatest generation. He was older when he enlisted in the Army; his fellow soldiers called him Gramps. The Army recognized his intelligence (he had to drop out of high school due to the Great Depression) and they sent him to Officers Candidate School where he attained the rank of Captain. Unlike some men he spoke about his experiences in World War Two until his dying day. I have kept his uniform despite my deceased sister wanting to donate it to the Smithsonian. I also have his medals, a shred of a Japanese flag, some snapshots of Hiroshima and Nagasaki and other mementos. I am very proud of his bravery and I salute him and all the other veterans and men and women on active duty. 

On the other hand I wish all war would cease and that we could live in peace. 

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

16 responses to “Honoring my father today”

  1. merrildsmith says :

    I share your desire to honor those who served while not honoring war itself.
    Your father was handsome, as well as brave. He looks like a movie star (Gary Cooper?)–great smile. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Carol A. More says :

    What a lovely tribute. Thank you for sharing it today. My father, also deceased, served in WWII as well but we never knew any of the details. Like most soldiers of this era, he never spoke of the war other than the friends he made – and those who were killed. I was well into my 50s before I heard he had not finished high school. Upon his death, I too inherited his ‘stripes’ and medals (and a disturbingly, huge, exotically ornate box of photos from India and China and his basic training in Colorado). I learned he had been granted a scholarship to West Point Academy/Officer’s Training but had declined. No one knows the full story of why he declined such an honor. There are so many questions of which will never be answered. So thank you for allowing me to honor my own father today through and in your father’s memory. This posting brought tears – for many reasons – to my eyes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      I have unanswered questions too but my father spoke of his experiences a lot. He did a radio show with Alan Funt “Behind the Dog Tag” and told of riding around the Philippines asking the natives for fresh chicken. I believe it was the formative experience of his life. He told stories over and over to anyone who would listen as he aged and became demented. Seeing him like that was the saddest thing I’ve ever seen because my father was the funniest and smartest person I’ve ever known (except my mother). Thank you Carol.

      Like

  3. Carol A. More says :

    Oh…and your dad? What a hottie he was!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sand Salt Moon says :

    Thanks to all who served and those who made the ultimate sacrifice. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Evelyn Flint says :

    A very lovely tribute to your dad…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jodi says :

    so heartwarming and lovely!

    Like

  7. Poet Rummager says :

    A handsome Captain your father was! He looked a bit like Bobby Darin. My admiration and best thoughts. xo

    Like

  8. memadtwo says :

    Beautiful tribute Nina. (K)

    Like

  9. memadtwo says :

    Thanks. I miss him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

