Sky Dancing

calligraphy crows s

like calligraphy
skywriting black against blue
clouds and trees dancing

Sue Vincent’s photo prompt, above, gave me a chance to try an idea I’ve been thinking about for awhile.  A few years ago I did a cross-stitch poem on paper, and I was intrigued by the pattern that appeared on the back.  This seemed the perfect opportunity to see what would happen if I tried it over some watercolor collaged together.

calligraphy crows close up s

I think I may have overdone it with the stitching, but I can always pull some out; the holes in the paper will make a subtle and interesting pattern too.  I’ll look at it for awhile and think about it.

calligraphy cross stitch s

Here’s the poem side, with part of the haiku and some patterns (I wanted to try those out as well).

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

32 responses to “Sky Dancing”

  1. merrildsmith says :

    This is so cool–the cross-stitch with the watercolor–and your take on the photo. I really like the haiku, too. They do look they’re skywriting!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Jodi says :

    Wowza! When the beautiful photo first appeared I was so drawn to the art. Then when i read what you did and saw the other side…. oh my! This is really amazing!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sue Vincent says :

    I can quite see why you wanted to try this out, Kerfe 🙂 I love the way you make poetry visible.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. frankhubeny says :

    I liked the idea of cross-stitching the poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jennifer G. Knoblock says :

    Wow. And…inspiring me to finish a poem-quilted piece that has been languishing in the closet…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. davisbrotherlylove says :

    I love the stitching over your sky colors. Sky writing, indeed!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Leonie Andrews says :

    Fantastic and love the back. That’s the ‘right’ side.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Mary Brearley says :

    These are totally lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Evelyn Flint says :

    Beautiful blue colours…

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Olga says :

    So creative, Kerfe. Multi-media poetry is a wonderful idea. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

