Self Portrait #20b (after Klee)

sp 20b klee collage s

Lune shining through me
like a galaxy
that flies

Wings I can not see
vibrate suddenly
surprise

Caught invisibly
beyond memory
tides rise

This self-portrait uses the same Klee painting for a reference as my last one, but I have done it in collage, as I said I hope to do.  I’ve taken more liberties this time as well.  The round face reminded me of the moon, and that was my inspiration for my choice of collage papers.

sp #20 comp

The poem uses the lai form, which I saw on dVerse in early June, but did not have time to attempt then.

sp 20b close up s

It’s a New Moon today…start something!

You can see all the self portraits so far here.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

24 responses to “Self Portrait #20b (after Klee)”

  1. merrildsmith says :

    I love this collage. The figure is resplendent–the moon shining through her–and the poem, flying galaxies and time. . .Wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Christine Wasnie says :

    Great piece. 🎨

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 10000hoursleft says :

    Beautiful collage Kerfe and perfect poetry pairing as always. I love the shapes in your image- something so right about them all- like the golden ratio or something…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jodi says :

    Very cool!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sand Salt Moon says :

    The poem was unexpected with your choice of words and yet flowed so naturally – and your collage works so well with your language art.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. outsideauthority says :

    Such a strong image ads perfectly balanced. I love it

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Claudia McGill says :

    I like this even better than the other one and I loved that one.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jill Kuhn says :

    Wow! Awesome self-portrait Kerfe! Paul Klee is a wonderful influence in your collage! 😊👍

    Liked by 1 person

  9. rivrvlogr says :

    All of this has a celestial feel.

    Like

Leave a Reply

