Surprise

met light 3s

Shapes appear
reflected, freshly
pressed—falling
into place
like the Fool’s card—zero played
openly, surprised.

met light 4s

I’ve been neglecting the Secret Keeper’s prompts the past few weeks for lack of time, not interest.    They are always like a puzzle for me, coming together in unexpected ways when I start to write.  The appearance of the Fool, after a few drafts of ideas, was definitely a surprise.  But serendipity is always part of the work I do.  The end is never where I thought I was going.

lunatic s

I took the photos of Japanese ceramics with the beautiful window light reflected on the glass display cases at the Metropolitan Museum last spring.  I was reminded of them by Marcy Erb’s post a few weeks back of a photo with reflected light on a Buddha, and I think they fit with this poem.

met light 2s

And I’ve resurrected a few Fools from past posts.  The Fool (Zero in the Tarot) represents for me a capacity to be surprised and delighted, to leave an empty space to be filled by life.  Wonder is everywhere; we just need make some room for it occasionally.

joker s

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

21 responses to “Surprise”

  1. frankhubeny says :

    The reflected light gave the pottery an unusual sparkle.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      It was really a case of being in the right place at the right time. I look at these ceramics almost every time I’m in the museum, and I’ve never had this experience before. Of course they are amazing even without the extra light…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Carol A. More says :

    Yes to the Fool in Tarot. Also, can mean setting off in a new direction with a bit of that whimsy you mention. Go forth with confidence!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jodi says :

    Light is so magical

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jill Kuhn says :

    Wow! How interesting to see the pattern of light on these other images. Definitely a wonderful surprise! 😊👍

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Claudia McGill says :

    I love the body position of the figure in the collage. Dance, petitioning, luring.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      It’s funny you should say petitioning…there’s some text at the top left that says “ask yourself these questions”. I can’t remember the original source of this one, except I like to do fools, and it’s titled “lunatic” so I was connecting my foolishness with the moon. Of course, one must dance under those circumstances.

      Liked by 2 people

  6. merrildsmith says :

    I love those photos! Unexpected light–and yes, wonder. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. deuxiemepeau says :

    The reflections in the ceramics are wonderful. They look like the irises of eyes speaking to you! Bravo! You’re no joker!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Bridgesburning Chris says :

    I love it when the end is not at all where we thought it would go!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

