Young Beethoven

I came across a picture of Beethoven at age 13. It’s the earliest known image of him and I attempted to paint him.  The music behind him is his piano sonata Op.14, No.2, which I studied and enjoy playing. 

Beethoven was born in 1770 in Bonn-on-Rhine. His musical education began at age four, taught by his father. At eight he played the violin well; at eleven he played Bach’s Well-Tempered Clavier. His career is well known. There’s a great app available of his magnificent Ninth Symphony, with four versions of it each with a different conductor. You can scroll and see the different instrument parts playing. It’s very cool. 20,000 people attended his funeral and I would have been one of them. I’m a fan!

Tags: ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

10 responses to “Young Beethoven”

  1. merrildsmith says :

    I like the portrait with the music behind him–somehow I thought the music was swirling. It must be from the shapes in the portrait. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jodi says :

    awesome job!

    Like

  3. Carol A. More says :

    I’m sure you WERE one of the honored guests at his funeral! I really love the simplicity of this work. The expression on his face is “immortally beloved”. (get it? one of my fave movies, behind Amadeus of course). XOXO

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Betty Hayes Albright says :

    Beethoven is my favorite of all the classical composer so of course I love your post and the painting. πŸŽΌπŸ’•

    Like

  5. Genie Geer says :

    Charming! He looks both innocent, and very VERY smart.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

