Call and Response: July Landscape

july landscape blk s

july landscape magnetic

When Nina posted her July landscape, below, she talked about possibly meeting with the Magnetic Poetry Oracle.  I loved her painting so much I did a collage response, and met with the Oracle myself for some poetic commentary, using Colleen’s poetry prompts for this week as well.

wild sanctuary
growing quiet beneath cloud
breezes blossoming

ancient path walks with windsong
wandering through rooted air

We have done a number of these collaborations in the past, but not recently.  I love especially Nina’s landscapes, which always give me a lot of fertile ground for collage.

july landscape close up s

It’s Saturday!  The Oracle is ready and waiting.

 

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

23 responses to “Call and Response: July Landscape”

  1. alongtheinterstice says :

    the Oracle gives me pause…time to find the wild sanctuary within, maybe. Or maybe as the collages seem to suggest, the sanctuary is out there if the looking is right. Or maybe they’re both the same. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Claudia McGill says :

    Perfect July portraits word and image and the both of you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. merrildsmith says :

    I love all of the creative inspirations and connections that came together here–Nina, the Oracle, and Colleen’s prompts, too. I really love the poem that came of this. Such beautiful images–wild, but peaceful, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Carol A. More says :

    Lovely! Reminds me of Van Gogh’s style.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Colleen Chesebro says :

    Wow! Your creativity knows no bounds. I love these collages and your poetry is perfect to go along. Lovely! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. kestrelart says :

    Your collages just should not work. Really they shouldn’t. Cutting and sticking bits of found colour should look like a child’s craft piece for a rainy afternoon, to be surreptitiously snuck into the recycling.
    But they do work. They are amazing. And this landscape is beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      What a wonderful complement! I must say I was pleased with this one. Nina’s painted landscapes always speak to me.

      Like

      • kestrelart says :

        It’s a compliment for sure, and also a reflection on the very nature of art: it is fascinating what makes your collage work as art and what distinguishes it from someone else using the same “simple” technique. What happens to your prolific output? Do you frame, exhibit, sell them?

        Liked by 1 person

      • memadtwo says :

        I have portfolios full in the storage room. I’m always entering them in shows, but have only been juried in twice. Some have appeared in online journals. A few I have framed and hanging. I give them away mostly. I used to try to sell them, but no one seems interested in buying.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

