Sunriseset

sunrise set comp4b

grey suddenly blue
I walk circles with the light
returning to stars

sunrise set comp s

“On the Road” has a haiku prompt this week that considers the life and work of Kikusha-Ni, a Buddhist nun, poet, artist, and wanderer.

sunrise set comp3

I used two sky photos I took at the beach and didย some quick watercolors on rice paper, combining the elements in a few different ways.

sunrise set comp2

The haiku evolved along with my photoshop manipulations.

dawning grey to blue
the sun wears orange this evening
returning to black

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

21 responses to “Sunriseset”

  1. merrildsmith says :

    This is so cool–love the art and the poetry. Time and colors merging.
    (I have a sunset and a sunrise photo in my post today, too. How weird is that?) ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jodi says :

    So beautiful! Made me feel calm

    Liked by 1 person

  3. davisbrotherlylove says :

    Hi Kerfe, I like how you combine the two photos, with your painting set between. Beautiful poem as well.
    j

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Suzanne says :

    What beautiful haiku. I love the idea of walking with the light to the stars. Your images really add to the post. I like the way you have used your watercolour painting as a connecting panel between the images. Thanks so much for joining in the challenge . – Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

  5. rivrvlogr says :

    I like both watercolors for different reasons.
    The first, for the way it seems to flow.
    The second, for the way the transition seems to be floating, as if a creature in a surreal existence, surrounded by the universe.

    Excellent haiku that leave the mind to imagine..

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Ken. It was really interesting to see what happened to the images when I moved them around in photoshop–often unexpected. I like that floating feeling too. And of course, stars.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Jill Kuhn says :

    Beautiful images and I like your experiments on the rice paper and then combining them into one. I enjoyed your haikus too. ๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’š

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Evelyn Flint says :

    Beautiful words and art….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

