Buddy breathing

I was discussing swimming pools and memories with our friend Claudia McGill and remembered when my Dad used to sit at the bottom of the pool with his scuba tank. All the kids would dive down and he’d hand them the breathing thing; we would hang out down there and take turns buddy breathing. I hadn’t thought of this in a long time. This is just a prelimary sketch and I’m going to paint it.  Claudia said early memories are the strongest. I’m going to have to think of more memories that I can translate into visual ones.  Maybe a series?

Tags:

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

15 responses to “Buddy breathing”

  1. alongtheinterstice says :

    would look forward to a series.

    how the visualization of other’s childhood memories trigger “forgotten” memories in the viewer / reader…remembering swimming lesson, nearly a dozen little kids dripping wet standing around the pool’s edge as each one took turns retrieving a brick 12 feet down. After each return, the kerplucking sound of the brick returning to its underwater resting place. A kind of group performance of Sisyphus. 🙂

    Like

  2. Jodi says :

    Oh how I love this. The memory and the drawing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Claudia McGill says :

    I’m smiling ear to ear. I love it. And the three stages: at the bottom, swimming down, and especially the treading water stage! I can imagine how much fun this was. I get the feeling your dad really enjoyed it, too. I’d love to see a series of your memories. And hear your thoughts as you relive them.

    This one makes me think of how proud I was the first time I was able to swim down to touch the bottom of the diving well at our club pool, 12 feet deep.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. memadtwo says :

    This is great Nina! Such wonderful memories. (K)

    Like

  5. Jill Kuhn says :

    I love your drawing, Nina! 😊 It reminds me of earlier memories of my dad at the lake and how he would hold his breath and swim underneath the dock from one side to the other. As kids we thought this was amazing! 😮 Now, as I look back probably not the smartest thing! Thank you for reminding me of this as I had forgotten about it. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  6. davisbrotherlylove says :

    ooh, I vote for a series, Nina!
    j

    Like

Leave a Reply

