(where it began)

winged thoughts s

The flood brings a rainbow
focused in feathers of thought–
fear waits in holding pattern between hands

Water comes, water goes–
energy will dive or float
or dissipate in waves upon the sand

Balance shifts uneasy–
now the steps of down return
rising like pathways finding mountained land

What is seen and not seen–
what is traversed and unlearned–
the finish line looms huge

(where it began)

Inspired by The Secret Keeper’s Writing Prompt #99
| EASY | FLOOD | THOUGHT | FEAR | HUGE |

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

21 responses to “(where it began)”

  1. merrildsmith says :

    I love this–circles of life and a cautionary tale with some wonder and magic, too. I just keep reading this over and over. I love the hands with feathered arms.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 10000hoursleft says :

    This made me think of agni (digestive fire) in ayurveda, and how it is ingluenced by thoughts, emotions and the environment. Your incredible collage is what made me think along those lines, but the words aligned with my interpretation of the image. Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Mek. I’ll have to look up agni–it’s interesting how fire images keep popping up for me these days.
      The word prompt really set my mind going. “Flood” and “fear”. And any chance to use wings…

      Liked by 1 person

      • 10000hoursleft says :

        Sorry about your friend’s illness. Friends like you will no doubt ease the struggle with your love and care.

        Interesting about fire images…could the weather have something to do with it? Yes, more wings please! 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • memadtwo says :

        Her friends and family have really rallied. We’ve all known each other since our children were toddlers (now in 30s) and been through a lot together.

        I’m not sure where the fire is coming from, but I’m aware of it for sure.

        There will always be wings!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Jodi says :

    This is stunning!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Evelyn Flint says :

    Beautiful creative work – lovely colours!

    Like

  5. crow says :

    I love this poem and the art. Really, really wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Claudia McGill says :

    I like the combination of water and wings. Words and image both beautiful. With a gliding feeling to them both.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Claudia. This was a really interesting group of words. I notice it has produced quite a variety of responses–out of the usual range. None of it is what I had in mind when I started.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Jill Kuhn says :

    I tried to create a painting like you did with watercolor but mine did not turn out as vibrant as yours. I like this image very much – the collage over the watercolor. The colors and patterns are wonderful – and I love the wings on the arms. I’m sorry to hear about your friend. Not an easy road ahead for her but I’m glad she has your friendship and support. This can make all the difference. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Jill. She does have a lot of support from family and friends and that will help.

      This is liquid watercolor straight out of the bottle. I do water it down sometimes, but I like the intensity when I don’t.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Sand Salt Moon says :

    This image you’ve created needs to be framed and may I Pin it on Pinterest? It’s amazing! The poem speaks volumes to me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

