Kill the Buddha 1 and 2

web 83 skill the buddha magnetic

I went to the storage room the other day to look for and photo some old collages and finally decided to look in the portfolio I knew had some very old work in it.  99% of the contents consists of collages, but there were a few drawings and paintings, and this was one of them.  1983, yikes.  That was about the end of my art work (except for the knit designing I did) for many years as my oldest daughter was born in 1985.

On the Road has published a provocative prompt (and unfortunately the last one) this week, based on the Zen Koan  “If you meet the Buddha on the road, kill him.”  Of course I had to consult the Magnetic Oracle.

remember to dance
like ghosts laughing in rhythm
with vast foolishness

web close up s

I also wrote my own interpretation of the prompt, based on my painting, which is titled “Web 1”.  Although I did not find a “Web 2”.

the net is fragile–
disintegrating, holding
what was never there

webclose up 3 s

Tags: , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

20 responses to “Kill the Buddha 1 and 2”

  1. rivrvlogr says :

    The Oracle’s whisper is great for the prompt, but I especially like the haiku. It fits the art perfectly.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Suzanne says :

    Brilliant – I didn’t think anyone would be able to write anything for that prompt. Just goes to show I don’t know what I’m talking about sometime. Maybe the prompts will come back after I’ve had a break. There’s other stuff going on in my life that might be clouding my judgement at present. Whether or not they continue I am glad they led me to your blog. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jodi says :

    How fun to find this piece, the memories, and then create something new and wonderful with it!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. merrildsmith says :

    Love the Oracle’s thought and the haiku!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Evelyn Flint says :

    Lovely abstract art and words….

    Liked by 1 person

  6. davekingsbury says :

    I found a poignant fragility in these words and pictures. Delicate.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Carol A. More says :

    Love going back and looking at early art stuff! And I couldn’t stop seeing delightful birch trees in your work above. My imagination? LOVELY!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Olga says :

    You did a wonderful job of disintegrating the buddha of life. All is an illusion. Love your art pieces, Kerfe.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Janice says :

    I like both haiku and the artwork very much. It’s amazing how it all goes with the prompt so well. I know little about koans but somehow it makes sense that wicked humour might have been in the mix (referring to the first haiku)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

