Conduit

watchers 3s

The pass is
wordless, but it
waits, alert–
watch and ward,
ancient, before and behind–
weathering all storms

Poem and art for Sue Vincent’s photo prompt, above.  I’m enamored with monoprints at the moment; and I always do multiple prints from each painted piece of plastic, although sometimes I’ll add a bit of color along the way.

watchers 2s

I also try different paper, both color and texture.  You can see how things evolved for this one.  The paint was quite thick on the first one, as was the texture of the handmade paper.  I used acrylic since it’s much less expensive than gouache, and I wanted to use a lot of paint.  The second print, above, was done on light grey drawing paper, which also has a bit of texture.

watchers 1s

The third one is done on a very lightweight black handmade paper–I don’t know what the fiber is, maybe bamboo or mulberry?  I have a pack of different colors, but I don’t remember how or when I acquired them.

Lots of the later prints don’t have much color; I’ll save those to use in some other fashion.  Maybe print again on top, or cut up to use in collage, or stitch over.  They will all find a use!

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

24 responses to “Conduit”

  1. merrildsmith says :

    I really like the poem–timeless watchers.
    It’s also interesting to see your creative process with the visual art.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Poet Rummager says :

    There’s a sense of mysticism in your words. I liked seeing the different textures your paintings took with the different papers you used.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sue Vincent says :

    These act impressions seem to capture more of the feel of the place the photo could, Kerfe.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jodi says :

    love them all! So different yet similar

    Liked by 1 person

  5. outsideauthority says :

    The plastic you are using, is it solid? You’re very inspiring, I’ve only purposely tried a thinner paper so far, hadn’t thought of colour.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. memadtwo says :

    Great interpretation of the photo and I’m intrigued with the monoprint idea. May have to steal (again).

    Like

  7. rivrvlogr says :

    I see a lot of turmoil in the first and third.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

