8/8/17: Draw a Bird today!

I have a soft spot for cockatoos. I’ve wanted one for years but my husband has always said no. They are a lot of work and live a long time but have so much personality. I follow a few on Instagram where they scream and carry on like there’s no tomorrow. 

One of the best pictures ever, taken by Kerfe last year in New York. This lady just had her bird sitting on her shoulder. She told us how much work these birds require but she didn’t seem to mind. Happy Draw a Bird Day!

A local Red Tail Hawk munching on a squirrel. Photo by John Skillin who kindly gave me this. Just throwing this in : ). 

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

14 responses to “8/8/17: Draw a Bird today!”

  1. sheldonk2014 says :

    I knew this woman who had birds for pets
    It was a long time ago
    But I to remember it being
    A little crazy

    Like

  2. Jodi says :

    Love your painting Nina – it’s so you – and how happy you look with the bird in NY!

    Like

  3. memadtwo says :

    Yes, I really got a kick out of meeting that bird! And a fun day with Kerfe too.

    Like

  4. Henrietta Watson says :

    Reblogged this on Blog Pad 2017.

    Like

  5. kestrelart says :

    To be pedantic ..,
    Rip, tear, dismember. Lunch.
    But never munch.
    Hawks never munch.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Claudia McGill says :

    Love the drawing, the photo. And the hawk picture brought back a memory – I once watched a hawk eat a squirrel, on my picnic table, in quite a leisurely way. My goodness, what a guest, but I didn’t have to cook for him…Look what your bird day has done! Given me a nice remembering and a chance to know something new about you, too.

    Like

  7. Sand Salt Moon says :

    I actually had a little blue bird in my collage today – and covered it up. I am forever missing Draw a Bird Day. Oh, well. At least, I didn’t miss your fabulous and fun post. Love the photo of you that Kerfe took ~ those birds are a lot of work and there used to be a guy who sat outside our local Starbucks in PA with the same bird – oh, did he draw a crowd!

    Like

  8. davekingsbury says :

    I keep starting to draw but they never stay still long enough … but, joking apart, this a nice little avian collection!

    Like

  9. Melba Christie at Poemattic says :

    They are beautiful creatures. My mother-in-law has two. Like your drawing. Was he ready to tell you something?

    Like

  10. Jill Kuhn says :

    All pets seem to require care… love your bird! ❤️💜💙

    Like

Leave a Reply

