Draw a Bird Day: Cardinal

cardinal head s

Too often when I think of my mother I remember the long years of Alzheimer’s, when she lived in a world I could neither share nor understand. This distorts the woman who should live there:  the one who loved to sing, to laugh, to talk to anyone who crossed her path.  The woman who taught me to embroider and to treasure words.  The librarian who gardened in roses, who wondered at birds, whose favorite color was red.

Scarlet messenger
flashing wingsong–penetrates
directly to heart

cardinal sketch scan s

At the beach this year, a pair of cardinals visited the deck daily.  Even when we couldn’t see them, we would hear them singing.  Then when I returned home, a pair of cardinals started regularly visiting the Rose of Sharon tree.  Cardinals were my mother’s favorite bird, and so these days she is often in my thoughts.

I haven’t been doing much drawing lately, but birds always offer a good opportunity to practice.  Happy Draw a Bird Day!–hopefully a few fly into your life today as well.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

32 responses to “Draw a Bird Day: Cardinal”

  1. suzieperon says :

    Such charming vibrant drawings! Thanks for sharing from a committed Irish bird nerd.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. shaunkellett says :

    Brilliant drawings and such a moving piece of prose. Amazing how even when people leave us physically, they can still be ever-present in our thoughts.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. merrildsmith says :

    A poignant post, nicely written as a haibun. The haiku is perfect. Lovely drawing of the cardinals.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. 10000hoursleft says :

    Beautiful drawings and haiku. What a lovely way to remember you mother and how lovely that the cardinals visit your garden to keep the undistorted memory alive.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Victo Dolore says :

    Beautiful. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Carol A. More says :

    These bird drawings are beautiful, made more so by the lovely memory of your mother. So tender…..

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Claudia McGill says :

    I see now why you mentioned yesterday’s red bird at my blog. My grandmother loved cardinals and I think of her when I see them. I understand how it is to associate a living being, here today, with good memories of what or who is gone. What a touching post.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Evelyn Flint says :

    Lovely drawings and lovely memories of how your mother used to be before that awful disease took hold…..

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Susan Feniak says :

    A lovely statement, tribute.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Jodi says :

    beautiful and heartfelt and moving.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. kestrelart says :

    Thanks for sharing your birds and memories

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Melba Christie at Poemattic says :

    Thanks for sharing your story. We are dealing with my father-in-law Alzheimer’s. Very sad to see the changes. He loved nature. Now he just sits and stares.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Melba. Maybe some of the beauty of nature still gets through to him. Every once in awhile something would connect with my mother, and I always hoped that it happened other times even when she didn’t react.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Jill Kuhn says :

    My MIL has dementia – it is so difficult to see her change and digress. 😌 I understand your pain, Kerfe and your Cardinals are beautiful! ❤️ Sometimes I don’t know how to express how I feel but your poem said it all to me! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  14. memadtwo says :

    I’ve been thinking about my mom a lot too. They say cardinals represent the souls of our loved ones. Yours is a lovely rendition.

    Like

Leave a Reply

