Still (more questions)

still s

Does age bring wisdom?
I climb stairs I cannot see–
dark and light are still.

This haiku is a response to On the Road’s “Step by Step” prompt, and also includes this week’s words from The Secret Keeper.Β Β Provoking another question, and another Rorschach (wings is the theme for the week).

 

Tags: , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

30 responses to “Still (more questions)”

  1. 10000hoursleft says :

    Loving the questions! My answer is no. It is the time to make lots of mistakes and learn that bring wisdom. Just happens you get older in the process…πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Jodi says :

    Art gallery material!!!! Wowza! I see an angel!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. merrildsmith says :

    I’m enjoying the questions, or questioning perhaps. I suppose as long as one continues to question, then age might bring [some] wisdom And the image fits.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. alongtheinterstice says :

    I would concur with those above, age does not guarantee wisdom. There is the old adage, “A wise man knows knows he knows nothing, the fool thinks he knows all.” [As in I believe there is a fool in the White House and he’s like 72].

    Going off on a tangent (too much coffee?), wisdom, as is alluded to in the adage, is grounded in self-awareness…which leads, I believe, to an awareness of our limitations and flaws. These are not “negative” attributes, but rather make us, in part, who we are.

    The notion of self-awareness is sort of the whole point of the images of the Rorschach test and “what is the first thing that comes to mind.” [For me, it was a moth, or more specifically, Mothra coming in for the battle with Godzilla…what that says about me will take some pondering.]

    (Definitely too much coffee this morning.) I do want to say I love the slight bit of blue that dots the back of the “wings.” I gives the image of the “moth” something other than what the dour (threatening?) grey of the image.

    Liked by 2 people

    • memadtwo says :

      Wow! Thanks. I haven’t thought of Mothra in a long time. I think any winged creature is appropriate, human or otherwise. We are, in a sense, doing battle with time, always. And I do see your point about self-awareness. What you see in the image is reflective of where you are right now. I like the blue too, although I have no interpretation for it. These pieces have their own mind of un/intentionality. They should always hold a certain mystery.

      As to too much coffee…never.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. memadtwo says :

    You achieved a lot of dimensionality in that one, K. Great job.

    Like

  6. Jill Kuhn says :

    This turned out really cool! πŸ‘πŸŽ¨ For some reason it reminds me of a moth. Maybe the colors? I’d like to believe we get smarter or wiser with time if we are paying attention. 😊

    Like

  7. Suzanne says :

    Your haiku is so profound. Meanings are revealed with re-reading. Aging is a mixed bag that’s for sure. I can relate to the idea of climbing stairs that can’t be seen.
    Your image is really something too. I agree with the comments that liken it to a moth.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. the secret keeper says :

    Grasping . upward where the stillness of the dark and light make the surroundings invisible. Unable to ever really know the answers. Great concept. Profound. Inspiring.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Janice says :

    A question I have wondered about… my answer: not necessarily and building up some wisdom could come in handy when coping with old age…I like the haiku very much…the image grabbed my attention in an unsettling way (I wonder what that says πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  10. davekingsbury says :

    The image has an organic texture, wondered how you got that …

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Jane Dougherty says :

    I’d say no too. It brings what in French is called je-m’en-foutisme meaning I-don’t-give-a-f**kism.
    Lots of people get it young, but it seems quite a healthy attitude in old people πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  12. kestrelart says :

    Oh god … you are in very big trouble now!
    How on earth did you get these shots of the alien brain? This is classified stuff! You need to look out who’s watching you … it’s not just the FBI. They want this back. THEY! The original owners!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Carol A. More says :

    The sky quilt is amazing. And posting it outside your door and sharing it with all, so generous of you.

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. On the Road prompts update | Collages - August 16, 2017
  2. Step by Step/Sky Quilt | method two madness - August 30, 2017

Leave a Reply

